![]() |
|
|
|||
Why? The ball is live in SP w/stealing
|
|
|||
When she intentionally kicked the ball, I would call "Time, Dead Ball"....Batter/Runner is "OUT" on interference and then have a pow wow with the coach that if she did it again him & her would be ejected from the game.
![]() |
|
|||
Much as I would like to simply declare the BR out at the time she kicks the ball, unlike Fed, ASA requires there be a play for there to be interference, and ASA defines a play as an attempt to retire a runner.
As Steve says, unless the BR attempts to advance beyond 1B (or any other runners attempt to advance beyond where they were forced), there is no play. Hence, there is no interference. There very well may be USC, or a warning about future USC if the act is repeated, but without a play to be interfered with, there is no interference. In the OP, the BR did advance to 3B. In that situation, once she began her try for 2B, the kicking has now interfered with a play, so at that point, dead ball, BR out, other runners (if any) return. I have no doubt 90% of the time you could declare the immediate dead ball and the BR out and no one would question it... the coach would probably be focusing his attention on the bone-headed move by his player. Elaine (LadyBlue), is that you?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
That was the first thought I had, but if it is she has a)moved from Georgia to the great state of North Carolina, and b)started a new account when she could have used her old one.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
When I was first asked about this situation (this past weekend) I answered it with the following...
When the "kicking of the ball" happened I would of declared "dead ball", gave the BR first base on the base on balls and gave the offensive team a warning for USC. By killing the play, I figured it prevented the BR from trying to advance anywhere past 1B and hopefully prevented all hell breaking loose with coaches. I was really thinking of changing my mind after BKJones and the others posts but I will stick with my call above. Not saying it's right especially with my only 2+ years of experience, Just MHO. Now if we add runners to this situation then we are talking a whole different animal. |
|
|||
Quote:
What play has the Batter-Runner interfered with, as required by the definition of interference? Until and unless the BR or another runner attempt to advance to an unawarded base, there is no rules basis to make that interference call. You would lose that protest.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NSA Rule Interpretation re: Intentionally Dropped Ball | BretMan | Softball | 29 | Sat Oct 04, 2008 08:39pm |
Intentionally dropped ball, or not? | Yuri10 | Baseball | 7 | Fri Mar 28, 2008 02:51pm |
Intentionally Dropped Ball | tobaccoroad14 | Softball | 6 | Fri Jun 17, 2005 02:35pm |
Intentionally Dropped Ball | tzme415 | Softball | 13 | Sat May 21, 2005 08:27am |
Infield fly vs. an intentionally dropped ball | tkrochta | Softball | 19 | Tue May 25, 2004 08:40pm |