![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Reason not to make the call: Because you think you know more than those that make the rules.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Another reason to not make the call is the exception:
"Intentionally violating the rule in order to walk the batter without pitching shall not result in a ball being awarded to the batter." ...as in tie game, 7th inning, division leading home run hitter at the plate. I always try to announce the count when the next pitch might be decisive, even if/when the batter takes the pitch. So almost anytime the batter has either or both of 3 balls or 2 strikes. Ted |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() I may kick the hell out of the rules on softball diamonds all across the Western USA but I never knowlingly ignore or kick a rule. ![]() It still seems silly to make that call but I will.
__________________
"I'll take you home" says Geoff Tate |
|
|||
Well, we're talking about high school varsity FP here. How many of you would make the same call on a 10U game?
You're lucky if the catcher can consistently get it back to the pitcher in the first place.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
10u tournament ball is the same as everything else IMO, and especially championship play.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't think there's a right or wrong answer here.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Sorry I disagree but, there is clearly a right call: ball four, catcher did not return the ball to the pitcher; and a clear wrong call: ignore the whole thing because you don't like the rule.
|
|
|||
Make me ASA king for a day and gone is the rule that allows the offense to benefit by deliberately committing interference.
I still want to know whether a "ball" is awarded during a dead ball (e.g., after a foul) or after F2 throws to 1B in a mistaken attempt to get a putout on the BR. BuggBob: You are of course correct that we cannot ignore even idiotic rules. In 10u rec, however, they're not paying you to make a shambles of the game. Are you going to call every illegal pitch in 10u rec? Is your strike zone going to be as the book defines it? Are you going to enforce the lookback rule according to the book? Are you going to let runners break for the next base on the throw to the mound, or are you going to call time out to end the chaos when the runners stop? Incidentally, I can cite some rules that I would never call, partly because they're bad rules, partly because almost nobody knows them.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Tue Mar 10, 2009 at 09:25am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Yes; after a foul ball that is retrieved by the catcher. Yes, a mistaken attempt is not an attempt (except in NCAA); there has to be someone to attempt to put out. ASA 8.7-B, NFHS 6-3-2, NCAA 10-16 (NCAA does grant the added exception of the BR runs even if not entitled to run)
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Tue Mar 10, 2009 at 09:24am. |
|
|||
Quote:
On the 2nd question I would say if there was some type of legitimate confusion based on a call that the umpire had to make (check swing for example) then I say you have nothing, especially if the runner takes off as you first mentioned. Rules allow an umpire to correct this. Last edited by Dholloway1962; Tue Mar 10, 2009 at 09:24am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Mind you, I don't call FP. I only call SP. However, for the first 4 years of my umpiring career, I called kids' games, ranging from age 9 through 14.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Is awarded base mandatory? | hawk65 | Softball | 2 | Tue May 01, 2007 01:10pm |
FED: Passing an awarded base | ctblu40 | Baseball | 15 | Thu Feb 08, 2007 06:31pm |
Batter awarded first on third strike | rwest | Softball | 2 | Fri Feb 17, 2006 01:33pm |
which base awarded on this obstruction? | shipwreck | Softball | 6 | Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:02am |
What has to happen to be awarded a single base or two bases | gary carico | Baseball | 6 | Thu Mar 06, 2003 03:12pm |