The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 09, 2009, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
Batter awarded 1st base?

High school varsity. The count is 3-1, nobody on base. Next pitch is called a strike and the catcher throws to 1st base thinking it was the third strike and the batter was out. Coach of the batting team calls time and says batter should be awarded 1st base since the catcher threw the ball to 1st. I'm the plate umpire and am not aware of the rule, so I call time and ask the more experienced base umpire. He tells me the coach is correct so I award the batter 1st base. No protest from the opposing coach. After the game, I tell my partner I learned something new today. He says he's certain it is an ASA rule but not sure about NFHS. I can't find anything about this in the NFHS books. Should the batter be awarded 1st base? Please cite which rule this is.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is awarded base mandatory? hawk65 Softball 2 Tue May 01, 2007 01:10pm
FED: Passing an awarded base ctblu40 Baseball 15 Thu Feb 08, 2007 06:31pm
Batter awarded first on third strike rwest Softball 2 Fri Feb 17, 2006 01:33pm
which base awarded on this obstruction? shipwreck Softball 6 Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:02am
What has to happen to be awarded a single base or two bases gary carico Baseball 6 Thu Mar 06, 2003 03:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1