![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
While I agree there could be an expectation that a defender go *poof - I guess the hang up would be a time frame as applied to a fielder being considered in the act of fielding a batted ball.
Once the ball is past the defender on the muff - are they still protected at all and/or for how long? This is not a deflected ball scenario - so just in general. .5 second? no seconds? 1 second? The fielders body is immediately in the postion after the muff in this case correct? So since they were unsucessful in fielding the ball they are considered to not be in the act of fielding it? I'm not so sure.. but interesting discussion.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Quote:
no? (probably because you've shot me )
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If a defender dives for the ball and misses, landing on the ground and the runner has to jump over that defender - the call that is being adocated is OBS - I have a no call on both cases. I still consider this type of issue as "act of fielding a batted ball"
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Problem is, wade, NFHS does not use the phrase "act of fielding a batted ball." They use the phrase "making the initial play on a batted ball" and they define what that phrase means:
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
BTW, I just noticed a loophole in the initial play definition: It apparently is not an initial play to attempt to catch a ball in flight that has NOT touched another fielder!
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
d@mn NFHS... lol
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Interesting differentiation,
I'm at work and without a rule book and since I'm not working HS ball this year I have not studied up on NFHS -- It seems in NFHS's effort to write it a different way, they (IMO inadvertantly) change entire interpretations. This is the same thing as leaving "play" out of interference. I still got a noncall, if I'm on the field right now, and i guess the wrong call.. but I'm not calling OBS on a fielder in the immediate act of fielding a batted ball. The ONLY reason step and reach is an issue ever is because the fielder is relocating, conceivably into a new new path, and receiving further/extra protection - To me, since deflection is not the issue - the fielder still in the same position immediately after the miss (ie a dive, or bending over whatever - still in the immediate act - although ultimately unsucessful) that is still fielding the ball. Since NFHS is not interested in "fielding the ball" I suppose I should bow out of the discussion and leave it to you NFHS gurus.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS Last edited by wadeintothem; Wed Mar 04, 2009 at 02:35pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| was a force play, became a tag play ? | _Bruno_ | Baseball | 8 | Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am |
| Play-by-Play Commentary | FC IC | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am |
| CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? | David Clausi | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm |