![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
When calling NFHS, I follow the approved ruling. Speaking academically, I believe the approved casebook ruling contradicts the written rule, for the reasons I have given.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
I actually made very nearly the same argument about disengaging a couple of years ago on the NFHS forum. I was made to realize that this was not the NFHS interpretation. They want the IP in this kind of situation to be enforced before the pitch can start.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In both rule sets, the written rules allow the pitcher to disengage prior to starting a pitch. While there is (unfortunately) a casebook ruling in NFHS, there is not in ASA. As a rule of thumb, there are numerous contradictory opinions on the NUS; only KR can issue a written interpretation.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Curious Steve- I'm getting confused. What was not the intent of the rule revision? To what are you referring? |
|
|||
|
If I remember correctly, the change in ASA was a result of a direct challenge (not in a game) by a coach who pointed out that there was no requirement in the book which supported the routine umpire's ruling that a pitcher step onto the pitcher's plate with the hands separated.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
But, following the logic that the pitcher can always disengage until she starts the pitch, stepping onto the plate with the hands together is more of an indicator that it WILL be an IP if she does not step back off (that is, up until this rule clarification), since she cannot get from there to a legal pitch.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Yes, but since ASA has now placed the direct requirement of having the hands separated into the rule, I assume the IP (DDB) signal goes out at that moment, right? Do you nullify the call if she disengages (I assume so, but it would then lead to a discussion with the OC, I'd expect...).
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
The question is: is it already too late due to the clarification of Rule 6-1-A? There are ASA clinicians who apparently are saying, yes, it is too late, which makes the ASA rule and interpretation the same as the NFHS rule and interpretation.
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Fri Feb 13, 2009 at 10:26am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The rule change does NOT say it is illegal if she does any of this with hands together, as the one clinician has stated. Nothing there contradicts the ability of the pitcher to remedy the "will be illegal" by stepping off and restarting correctly. I have great respect, and a lot of (positive) history with that individual, I just don't see the rule stating what he is saying. By Full Count's statements, KR did not make that statement. Maybe no one asked him, maybe he would issue an agreeing ruling. But he has not (that I am aware of), and that doesn't supercede what is in the book. He can; he hasn't. Rwest, re-read what I already stated. It is my opinion that the NFHS case play ruling contradicts the written rule, but it is a written ruling. Tht makes it official; even if it stated that batters are awarded first base on an uncaught foul ball with a 2-1 count. An academic discussion can still ensue; but if that is the approved ruling, it is our job to enforce it (until someone in appropriate authority realizes it is wrong, or the written rule is changes to match).
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Fri Feb 13, 2009 at 02:01am. |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=AtlUmpSteve;578933]By what you have posted to this point, the only clinician that told you it could not be remedied by stepping off in an ASA game is the same one who previously stated (before the rule change) the same thing. The rule change does not state that; it clarifies what Dakota says, and what was questioned here, what was apparently unclear, that to be legal, a pitcher had to initiate the pitching position with hands separated, pause to take (or simulate taking) the signal, then must bring the hands together.
The rule change does NOT say it is illegal if she does any of this with hands together, as the one clinician has stated. Nothing there contradicts the ability of the pitcher to remedy the "will be illegal" by stepping off and restarting correctly. I have great respect, and a lot of (positive) history with that individual, I just don't see the rule stating what he is saying. By Full Count's statements, KR did not make that statement. Maybe no one asked him, maybe he would issue an agreeing ruling. But he has not (that I am aware of), and that doesn't supercede what is in the book. He can; he hasn't. [QUOTE] Good morning Steve, Let me take another shot at this because I may be missing your point. First, the clinician who covered 2009 rules changes in the December NUS in DFW was Julie and her explanation was that the rule change now makes it an illegal pitch if the pitcher steps up on the plate with hands together and that a DDB signal was to be given then. Later, Walt was addressing game management and during his remarks he stated that this change was to make the rule consistent with the way everyone was already calling it- IP (his statement not mine). Three weeks later, at the DFW regional clinic Walt covered the rule changes and clearly stated the change was to make clear that this is an IP and was a result of a challenge that the pitcher could remedy the IP by stepping off. He said it would also help us address any future challenges with coaches who may try to contend that there was a remedy. Later that same day, KR, as part of his session discussed it again briefly and concurred that this is an IP. KR's comments were not a "ruling," but only part of a general discussion that came up about on-field situations. But what I took away from both clinics is that in 2009 you can not remedy that IP infraction by stepping back off the plate before separating the hands. Maybe I misunderstood. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|