The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2009, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by azbigdawg View Post
Mike still owes me a beer for his public "oops" on this one.....
Wait a minute! Seems to me, I picked up a nice sized check on Saturday night...or was it Sunday morning?. I think it covered about six states.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2009, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Wait a minute! Seems to me, I picked up a nice sized check on Saturday night...or was it Sunday morning?. I think it covered about six states.
You forgot a certain state in Region 4. My mouth is a little dry over here...
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2009, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Region 4 was well represented. Your NC representatives (Phil, BJ and Al) opted out from the extracurricular (although I did drink with Al one dinner).

And there were several of those checks to go around. Our checks did represent GA, AZ, DE, PA, MD, NE and TX, as best I recall.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2009, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Region 4 was well represented. Your NC representatives (Phil, BJ and Al) opted out from the extracurricular (although I did drink with Al one dinner).

And there were several of those checks to go around. Our checks did represent GA, AZ, DE, PA, MD, NE and TX, as best I recall.
I appreciate the good words. I consider myself very privileged to know them.

Except Al. He's a bit off. Just kidding, Al's a great guy!
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2009, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
And there were several of those checks to go around. Our checks did represent GA, AZ, DE, PA, MD, NE and TX, as best I recall.
I believe NM & DC may have also been at the table for at least one round.

Have no idea why the Great Northwest chose to not to share a beverage or two.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post



After making a fool of myself by questioning the requirement of "next play" thanks to a brain fart that reverted to "appeal" as opposed to protest, it was explained, if I remember correctly as that is not the manner in which that qualification was intended.

Someone can correct me if wrong. The line of thought was that by using this to refuse the appeal, you are pretty much giving the offending team a break.

However, the more I think about it, I don't believe there really is a problem with the sentence. If used as I believe it was meant, in the play above the misinterpretation of the rule occurred when the umpire determined there was no violation by the BR.

Hence, there was no play between the misinterpretation and the protest. A team cannot protest an interpretation prior to it being made.
Are you the person writing some of those ASA test questions?

Ted
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Are you the person writing some of those ASA test questions?

Ted
Nah, he's the "editor."
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Are you the person writing some of those ASA test questions?

Ted
I know the question was facetious. Still, the process, as I understand it, is the members of the NUS present proposed questions to KR. He uses his Deputy Supervisors (one or some, primarily JJ) to help edit, but he is the primary test compiler (as opposed to author).
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
We should be careful about applying the baseball concept of "continuing action" to softball.

R1 on 2B. B2 hits a grounder to F6, who fakes R1 back to 2B and then throws to 1B. B2 beats the throw but touches only the white (i.e., misses 1B). The ball gets away from F3.

B2 advances to 2B. R1 rounds 3B and stands 20 feet down the line, trying to draw a throw. F3 runs the ball in and chases R1 all the way back to 3B. F3 then hands the ball to F1, who is standing next to her near 3B. As F3 returns to her position, F1 walks toward the circle while R1 stands on 3B talking to the 3B coach. Several seconds later, just before F1 enters the circle, R1 breaks for home. F1 throws home in an attempt to get R1 (outcome doesn't matter).

The defense now appeals B2's miss of 1B.

In ASA, regardless of how much or what type of action occurs after a baserunning error, the defense can appeal until the next pitch, legal or illegal (or the infielders have vacated, or last play of game and umpires have left, etc.). Therefore, the appeal should be upheld.

In OBR, the intervening play—after the stoppage of continuing action—would void the right of the defense to appeal.

(Note: Fed and NCAA baseball don't follow OBR exactly in this area. I'm not sure, but I think they recognize continuing versus relaxed action but do not void an appeal if the offense initiates the intervening play.)

The concept of continuing versus relaxed action certainly complicates the game, but remember that in baseball, runners can break for the next base at any time that the ball is live, such as when the pitcher is getting the sign. In OBR, in theory, several batters could bat without the ball becoming dead. This of course is not true in softball. And (except for Babe Ruth), softball permits dead ball appeals, which OBR does not.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
We should be careful about applying the baseball concept of "continuing action" to softball.

R1 on 2B. B2 hits a grounder to F6, who fakes R1 back to 2B and then throws to 1B. B2 beats the throw but touches only the white (i.e., misses 1B). The ball gets away from F3.

B2 advances to 2B. R1 rounds 3B and stands 20 feet down the line, trying to draw a throw. F3 runs the ball in and chases R1 all the way back to 3B. F3 then hands the ball to F1, who is standing next to her near 3B. As F3 returns to her position, F1 walks toward the circle while R1 stands on 3B talking to the 3B coach. Several seconds later, just before F1 enters the circle, R1 breaks for home. F1 throws home in an attempt to get R1 (outcome doesn't matter).

The defense now appeals B2's miss of 1B.

In ASA, regardless of how much or what type of action occurs after a baserunning error, the defense can appeal until the next pitch, legal or illegal (or the infielders have vacated, or last play of game and umpires have left, etc.). Therefore, the appeal should be upheld.

In OBR, the intervening play—after the stoppage of continuing action—would void the right of the defense to appeal.

(Note: Fed and NCAA baseball don't follow OBR exactly in this area. I'm not sure, but I think they recognize continuing versus relaxed action but do not void an appeal if the offense initiates the intervening play.)

The concept of continuing versus relaxed action certainly complicates the game, but remember that in baseball, runners can break for the next base at any time that the ball is live, such as when the pitcher is getting the sign. In OBR, in theory, several batters could bat without the ball becoming dead. This of course is not true in softball. And (except for Babe Ruth), softball permits dead ball appeals, which OBR does not.
And all that is fine (even in 'bama), if we were talking about appeals. We are talking about a protest.
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 03:05pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I believe NM & DC may have also been at the table for at least one round.

Have no idea why the Great Northwest chose to not to share a beverage or two.
Yeah, we shared. We just didn't know where the f*k you were. We were typically in the bar across from the training rooms, or we retired to someone's room and sat around shooting the schitt and drinking crown.

Sorry we missed ya. Sounds like the umpire communication broke down.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW View Post
Yeah, we shared. We just didn't know where the f*k you were. We were typically in the bar across from the training rooms, or we retired to someone's room and sat around shooting the schitt and drinking crown.

Sorry we missed ya. Sounds like the umpire communication broke down.
No kidding. Mike posted here before the convention, as well as during, that we would be at Chisolm's, not the Bombay Club.

Actually, we did attend the Bombay Club Thursday night, since Chisolm's closed early. We stayed with Rod and the Alaska group pretty late that night. But Friday and Saturday we went to Chisolm's; we had an "arrangement" with the barkeep that was mutually advantageous.

In fact, it was so advantageous that AZBIGDOG drank MY BEER!!
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
No kidding. Mike posted here before the convention, as well as during, that we would be at Chisolm's, not the Bombay Club.

Actually, we did attend the Bombay Club Thursday night, since Chisolm's closed early. We stayed with Rod and the Alaska group pretty late that night. But Friday and Saturday we went to Chisolm's; we had an "arrangement" with the barkeep that was mutually advantageous.

In fact, it was so advantageous that AZBIGDOG drank MY BEER!!

5...4...3...2...1.....I expected Darrell to chime in by now.

And yes, when three people drink for nearly two hours for less than $10, it was very advantageous.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Definitions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
The BR is always referred to as the BR until the time she becomes a runner. In the course of one play, the BR will not become a R. I know of no one who describes plays in that manner, unless it is the little ball folk.
This year for the first time I've noticed that just by definition this is not necessarily the case. I agree with your nomenclature and thats how I've always thought of and used the terms but the definitions indicate something else. I've read the rule book every year for the past seven years and have just noticed this this year.

Batter Runner: A player who has completed a turn at bat but has not yet been put out or reached first base.

Runner: An offensive player who has reached first base and has not yet been put out or scored.

So B1 lays down a bunt, between home and 1st she is a batter runner, by definition. Once she reaches first she now, by definition, becomes a runner.

I know there is language throughout the book that uses batter-runner rounding first base (i.e. the Look Back Rule, taking batter-runner to first base, etc), however, the definition disagrees with this.

Has anyone else every noticed the discrepancy in the definition and how its used in the book?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Desert....
Posts: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
No kidding. Mike posted here before the convention, as well as during, that we would be at Chisolm's, not the Bombay Club.

Actually, we did attend the Bombay Club Thursday night, since Chisolm's closed early. We stayed with Rod and the Alaska group pretty late that night. But Friday and Saturday we went to Chisolm's; we had an "arrangement" with the barkeep that was mutually advantageous.

In fact, it was so advantageous that AZBIGDOG drank MY BEER!!
Im not stupid...It was swill..but it was CHEAP swill....

I was in hell...a black man stuck in a western bar with no real beer in sight.....It was tragic....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was a force play, became a tag play ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1