The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Another ASA Play

0 outs, R1 on 2B. B2 hits a grounder to F6 who makes a play to 1B. The BR just beats the throw, but only touches the white portion of the double base.

As F3 throws to 3B in an attempt to get the late-breaking R1, B2 takes a hard left and continues to 2B.

R1 is tagged out. The defense then makes a live ball appeal that B2 missed 1B since he did not tag the colored portion of the base. The umpires consult and rule that the appeal is not applicable and B2 safe.

The defense then protests the game on the basis of the umpire crew's misinterpretation of rule 8.2.M.3

The PU refuses to accept the protest. Is this correct? If not, why?

UIC Clinic attendees - please refrain from responding for at least 24 hours.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
0 outs, R1 on 2B. B2 hits a grounder to F6 who makes a play to 1B. The BR just beats the throw, but only touches the white portion of the double base.

As F3 throws to 3B in an attempt to get the late-breaking R1, B2 takes a hard left and continues to 2B.

R1 is tagged out. The defense then makes a live ball appeal that B2 missed 1B since he did not tag the colored portion of the base. The umpires consult and rule that the appeal is not applicable and B2 safe.

The defense then protests the game on the basis of the umpire crew's misinterpretation of rule 8.2.M.3

The PU refuses to accept the protest. Is this correct? If not, why?

UIC Clinic attendees - please refrain from responding for at least 24 hours.
K, I'll take a shot. Whether a rule applies or not is not a judgment call, so accepting the protest is a no-brainer.
As for the rule, I can't see any reason it wouldn't apply. Unless I'm to read that B2 did not overrun the base. If B2 stopped on 1st base, then in my view that is a return and he's not out on appeal.
________
SexbombPerry

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to pollywolly60
Did the PU refuse to accept the protest because it was not made before the "next play" on the runner from 2nd going to third?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Well....according to 9.1.A.2 a protest on a playing rule interpretation cannot be accepted after the "next play," and a subsequent play had occurred. So, I would have to say that all is okay in the OP, unless, of course, there is something that I am missing!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to pollywolly60
If a protest is made here on misinterpretation of the rule, it should be allowed. I can't see a valid reason not to allow it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
Well....according to 9.1.A.2 a protest on a playing rule interpretation cannot be accepted after the "next play," and a subsequent play had occurred. So, I would have to say that all is okay in the OP, unless, of course, there is something that I am missing!
There wasn't a subsequent play after the appeal. There was play before the appeal. Since the protest was of the appeal I don't see how you can deny it.
________
Web shows

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
There wasn't a subsequent play after the appeal. There was play before the appeal. Since the protest was of the appeal I don't see how you can deny it.
Ah-ha!!!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post

UIC Clinic attendees - please refrain from responding for at least 24 hours.
I'll respond . . . Mike, did you write these down?

And I like the way you used BR to refer to the Batter Runner. Why do we give the Batter Runner a number?

And I'll refrain from mentioning how inane it is to say: "R1 at second."

Hijack over, answer Mike's question, the answer is very interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
I'll respond . . . Mike, did you write these down?

And I like the way you used BR to refer to the Batter Runner. Why do we give the Batter Runner a number?

And I'll refrain from mentioning how inane it is to say: "R1 at second."

Hijack over, answer Mike's question, the answer is very interesting.
The BR is always referred to as the BR until the time she becomes a runner. In the course of one play, the BR will not become a R. I know of no one who describes plays in that manner, unless it is the little ball folk.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Original play, and all plays this weekend, referred to the Batter Runner as B3 (in this case) or B2. This system directly lead to our group misreading one particular play.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
Original play, and all plays this weekend, referred to the Batter Runner as B3 (in this case) or B2. This system directly lead to our group misreading one particular play.
Wonder why they did that?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
Wonder why they DO that?
Fixed it for you. See every case play listed on ASA's website. And it just isn't the ASA:
http://www.nfhs.org/web/2009/02/2009...s_interpr.aspx

And yes, region 3 people like to complain
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
Original play, and all plays this weekend, referred to the Batter Runner as B3 (in this case) or B2. This system directly lead to our group misreading one particular play.
Leave it to a Little Pineapple to not refrain as requested.

No, I did not write them down.

BR is not assigned a # as there can only be one and it is a temporary designation at that.

B2 is the proper designation as the set-up info provides.

There is no, nor should there be, B3 in the scenario.

And "R1 on 2B" is the appropriate set-up (keep your baseball on the other board ).

Did you not pay attention? It cannot be the alcohol since you did not drink that much.....so it must be those damn cigars you were sucking on.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Ok, you are right (jet lag I guess . . . and for 1- I'm way bigger than the pineapple, so I can't be "little" and 2- I am no pineapple).

Then why give a number when the batter is at bat and remove the number? Crazy convention.

I have not discussed one baseball play, so I do not know of their conventions. R1 being on first is more efficient.

(Darn, I said I was finished with the hijack)

And I did my drinking away from the country bar. Blame it on the Boone's!!!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Definitions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
The BR is always referred to as the BR until the time she becomes a runner. In the course of one play, the BR will not become a R. I know of no one who describes plays in that manner, unless it is the little ball folk.
This year for the first time I've noticed that just by definition this is not necessarily the case. I agree with your nomenclature and thats how I've always thought of and used the terms but the definitions indicate something else. I've read the rule book every year for the past seven years and have just noticed this this year.

Batter Runner: A player who has completed a turn at bat but has not yet been put out or reached first base.

Runner: An offensive player who has reached first base and has not yet been put out or scored.

So B1 lays down a bunt, between home and 1st she is a batter runner, by definition. Once she reaches first she now, by definition, becomes a runner.

I know there is language throughout the book that uses batter-runner rounding first base (i.e. the Look Back Rule, taking batter-runner to first base, etc), however, the definition disagrees with this.

Has anyone else every noticed the discrepancy in the definition and how its used in the book?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was a force play, became a tag play ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1