The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by softball_junky View Post
That is the question that came up. Is the batter still protected if they leave one batter's box and contact the ball in the other batter's box.
There's a point clearly being missed. They are not protected if they contact the ball in their original batter's box; the foul ball call is only of the ball contacts them.

In your OP, the batter-runner "steps on the ball". That is interference as long as the ball was in fair territory. Neither batter's box has protection in this play.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter Kicks Fair Ball in Batters Box bwbuddy Baseball 27 Mon Apr 23, 2007 06:49pm
Contacting a thrown ball during a throw in All_Heart Basketball 6 Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:12pm
Contacting backboard........ zebra44 Basketball 3 Sat Jan 08, 2005 04:29pm
Contacting The Backboard pbrad59 Basketball 11 Wed Dec 03, 2003 01:26pm
Batted Ball in Batters Box boppster Softball 5 Tue May 14, 2002 08:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1