The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 03:32pm
softball_junky
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That is the question that came up. Is the batter still protected if they leave one batter's box and contact the ball in the other batter's box.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by softball_junky View Post
That is the question that came up. Is the batter still protected if they leave one batter's box and contact the ball in the other batter's box.
No, they are not. If a coach tries to argue that, tell them the batter's not allowed to switch once the pitcher begins their delivery. So either you have an out for switching batter's boxes, an out for INT on a fair batted ball, or a foul ball (if the ball was first touched in foul territory).

Your choice, coach (assuming you already ruled foul/fair).
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by softball_junky View Post
That is the question that came up. Is the batter still protected if they leave one batter's box and contact the ball in the other batter's box.
There's a point clearly being missed. They are not protected if they contact the ball in their original batter's box; the foul ball call is only of the ball contacts them.

In your OP, the batter-runner "steps on the ball". That is interference as long as the ball was in fair territory. Neither batter's box has protection in this play.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 17, 2009, 05:22pm
softball_junky
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
There's a point clearly being missed. They are not protected if they contact the ball in their original batter's box; the foul ball call is only of the ball contacts them.

In your OP, the batter-runner "steps on the ball". That is interference as long as the ball was in fair territory. Neither batter's box has protection in this play.
Good point, I think you are right on. The batter's box had no bearing in this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter Kicks Fair Ball in Batters Box bwbuddy Baseball 27 Mon Apr 23, 2007 06:49pm
Contacting a thrown ball during a throw in All_Heart Basketball 6 Wed Jan 17, 2007 03:12pm
Contacting backboard........ zebra44 Basketball 3 Sat Jan 08, 2005 04:29pm
Contacting The Backboard pbrad59 Basketball 11 Wed Dec 03, 2003 01:26pm
Batted Ball in Batters Box boppster Softball 5 Tue May 14, 2002 08:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1