The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
It is either foul or it isn't. If it is foul, that is what it is. Period. No play can be made with a foul ball.
Sure it can. Terrible bunt hits a rock in foul territory and is now flying back toward the catcher. Batter had given up on it so she is standing in the box and the catcher has moved forward. Realizing the ball is about to go fair the catcher positions to make the catch and tag. That is a play. The batter runs through the catcher. I've met the definitions of interference have I not?
________
Lenya

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Sure it can. Terrible bunt hits a rock in foul territory and is now flying back toward the catcher. Batter had given up on it so she is standing in the box and the catcher has moved forward. Realizing the ball is about to go fair the catcher positions to make the catch and tag. That is a play. The batter runs through the catcher. I've met the definitions of interference have I not?
Depends... Was the ball fair when the catcher first touched it? If so, then yes. If not, then no. The ball is foul, and no play can be made.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Depends... Was the ball fair when the catcher first touched it? If so, then yes. If not, then no. The ball is foul, and no play can be made.
Or the location of the ball when the B/BR ran through the catcher. If over foul territory........
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Sure it can.
No, it can't.
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Terrible bunt hits a rock in foul territory and is now flying back toward the catcher. Batter had given up on it so she is standing in the box and the catcher has moved forward. Realizing the ball is about to go fair the catcher positions to make the catch and tag. That is a play.
And, assuming the catcher first touched the ball in fair territory, that is a fair ball. Don't try to predict the future (unless you are making base awards after an obstruction call, that is...)
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
No, it can't. And, assuming the catcher first touched the ball in fair territory, that is a fair ball. Don't try to predict the future (unless you are making base awards after an obstruction call, that is...)
No, the catcher was in fair ground and the ball was travelling in the air toward the catchers glove. In what way is this not a play? It is an attempt by a fielder to retire an offensive player.
As for predicting the future, you do it all the time in calling interference. Ball hit toward F5. Runner coming hard from 2nd to 3rd runs in to F5. No one covering third. Out for interference because I saw that in the future the 3rd baseman was making a tag or throwing to first.
________
KarlaXXX

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
No, the catcher was in fair ground and the ball was travelling in the air toward the catchers glove. In what way is this not a play? It is an attempt by a fielder to retire an offensive player.
You can try to justify it any way you want, it doesn't wash. You do not have interference by present definition or rules.

Quote:
As for predicting the future, you do it all the time in calling interference. Ball hit toward F5. Runner coming hard from 2nd to 3rd runs in to F5. No one covering third. Out for interference because I saw that in the future the 3rd baseman was making a tag or throwing to first.
No, F1 is out for interfering with the fielder's opportunity to field a fair batted ball which is specifically covered in the rules. You are not predicting anything.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 07:24pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
youngump:
What they said. No play. Can't predict future. Remember priorities: Fair/Foul status first.

__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2008, 08:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW View Post
youngump:
What they said. No play. Can't predict future. Remember priorities: Fair/Foul status first.

What kind of beer are we drinking in February?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2008, 12:12am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
What kind of beer are we drinking in February?
Hahaha! It's not my call this year on what's being served to the masses. However, I do believe you'll be buying me something amber in color and malty to taste.

__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2008, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
No, the catcher was in fair ground and the ball was travelling in the air toward the catchers glove. In what way is this not a play? It is an attempt by a fielder to retire an offensive player.
As for predicting the future, you do it all the time in calling interference. Ball hit toward F5. Runner coming hard from 2nd to 3rd runs in to F5. No one covering third. Out for interference because I saw that in the future the 3rd baseman was making a tag or throwing to first.
As others have said, you rule on what happened when it happened. At the point of contact you have to judge was the ball fair or foul. If Fair we get INT cause you can be attempting to retire an offensive player (thus making a play) if foul then it is just a foul ball, no chance to make a play (can't get an out on a foul ball) so no chance for INT.

In your other case as others have said, at the time of the contact the ball is in fair territory so it is ruled a fair ball and the INT is enforced. And also as stated the out is not for what might happen is it for what did happen. Heck in your case the same could happen, ball could hit rock or bad spot in field and roll foul before it was ever touched....BUT in that case the ball was in fair territory when you stop action for the INT, so it is ruled fair and the INT enforced regardless of where the ball went after the contact.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2008, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED View Post
As others have said, you rule on what happened when it happened. At the point of contact you have to judge was the ball fair or foul. If Fair we get INT cause you can be attempting to retire an offensive player (thus making a play) if foul then it is just a foul ball, no chance to make a play (can't get an out on a foul ball) so no chance for INT.

In your other case as others have said, at the time of the contact the ball is in fair territory so it is ruled a fair ball and the INT is enforced. And also as stated the out is not for what might happen is it for what did happen. Heck in your case the same could happen, ball could hit rock or bad spot in field and roll foul before it was ever touched....BUT in that case the ball was in fair territory when you stop action for the INT, so it is ruled fair and the INT enforced regardless of where the ball went after the contact.
No, in my case the ball was foul at the time of the hindrance. The fielder was attempting to field a live ball. It became dead because of the interference and at that point it couldn't be played. There are other pathological situations where you could have interference where you have to assume the ball wasn't going to be dead before it got to the fielder. For example a fly ball where the fielder is shoved out of the way followed by a massive wind blowing it out of play. He wasn't actually making a play because he had no opportunity to retire the runner. However, I've got a dead ball at the time of interference unless I never believed he had a play. I'm predicting the future.

Notwithstanding, I'm mildly but slightly convinced that the intent of the rule here is to make interference while the ball is foul a legal way to avoid being put out. Were I on the rules committee, it'd be changing next year. But that's not going to happen. The OP I am strongly convinced and my variant very mildly.
________
HOW TO ROLL BLUNTS

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2008, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
No, in my case the ball was foul at the time of the hindrance. The fielder was attempting to field a live ball. It became dead because of the interference and at that point it couldn't be played. There are other pathological situations where you could have interference where you have to assume the ball wasn't going to be dead before it got to the fielder. For example a fly ball where the fielder is shoved out of the way followed by a massive wind blowing it out of play. He wasn't actually making a play because he had no opportunity to retire the runner. However, I've got a dead ball at the time of interference unless I never believed he had a play. I'm predicting the future.

Notwithstanding, I'm mildly but slightly convinced that the intent of the rule here is to make interference while the ball is foul a legal way to avoid being put out. Were I on the rules committee, it'd be changing next year. But that's not going to happen. The OP I am strongly convinced and my variant very mildly.
You can come up with all kinds of bizarre woulda coulda's but in your fly ball example, there is a specific rules that addresses that (re: 7-6-I, 8-7-J-1), and you are calling the situation as it is at the time you call it... it is a foul fly ball and the fielder is attempting to field it. That's it. No Nostradamus required.

The OP should be a simple case of a definitional foul ball, but ASA has confused the rule by saying "runner" and "interferes with". Replace that with "offensive player" and "hinders" and this whole thread goes away.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Fri Dec 05, 2008 at 01:03pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2008, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Replace that with "offensive player" and "hinders" and this whole thread goes away.
But then we'd have had nothing else to comment about other than "Umpire" Josh.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2008, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Sure it can. Terrible bunt hits a rock in foul territory and is now flying back toward the catcher. Batter had given up on it so she is standing in the box and the catcher has moved forward. Realizing the ball is about to go fair the catcher positions to make the catch and tag. That is a play. The batter runs through the catcher. I've met the definitions of interference have I not?
As has already been stated by others, if the ball is touched in foul territory, or the contact occurs while the ball is in foul territory, this is a foul ball. Can't make a play with a foul ball, as the ball is immediately dead. That has been the gist of this entire thread, which was leather and glue a long time ago. Go back and read the thread from the OP. I think you will see it.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the call justcallmeblue Softball 28 Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:50am
Whats the call? veg4 Baseball 1 Mon Aug 15, 2005 01:15pm
whats the call? wilkey1979 Basketball 7 Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:03am
Whats the call? Ricejock Softball 2 Sat Apr 20, 2002 10:24am
Another ASA whats the call Gulf Coast Blue Softball 3 Sat Feb 03, 2001 11:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1