The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
...Even if it was an extremely slow toss of the ball, the purpose of OBS is to off-set the affect of the obstruction. Had the OBS not occurred, R1 still would have been out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones View Post
...If, in the sole judgement of the umpire, there is no frickin way she was going to get to the bag before being put out, there is no obs....
Anyone else have a problem with these two statements?

I do.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Anyone else have a problem with these two statements?

I do.
So what is your problem with those statements? Maybe they could have been more "politically correct" but they are basically stating the same thing that we have been told, if the play would have been an out without the OBS then it remains an out. The classic example of a pop fly to the outfield that is caught in the air for an out, if the BR rounds first and trips over the first baseperson we still got an out....the OBS in that case doesn't let them have 2nd base, they are still out. I see it as the same type of interpretation, agian could have been worded differently so it didnt' seem like they were "making up" a ruling and hiding behind the J card (in my judgement) but I see the validity in their reasoning.

So what would you rule and why??
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Anyone else have a problem with these two statements?

I do.
If these 2 statements are saying that they have an obstructed runner called out between the bases where the OBS occurred, I do too.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
If these 2 statements are saying that they have an obstructed runner called out between the bases where the OBS occurred, I do too.
Yeah, that's what I'm getting at. While the objective of the OBS rule is to restore things as if the OBS had not taken place, in no way does this ever say that between the bases where the OBS occurred, you let the out stand merely because without OBS, the runner would have been out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Anyone else have a problem with these two statements?

I do.
Sorry to hear that, but that's life in the big city.

Of course, these comments were specific to the play at hand. Not much different than OBS on a BR between the plate and 1B on a caught fly ball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Sorry to hear that, but that's life in the big city.

Of course, these comments were specific to the play at hand. Not much different than OBS on a BR between the plate and 1B on a caught fly ball.
I wasn't aware DE had any big cities...

I know your comments were specific to the play at hand, but in general, a runner is protected between the bases where the obs occurred EVEN IF the runner was a certain out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I know your comments were specific to the play at hand, but in general, a runner is protected between the bases where the obs occurred EVEN IF the runner was a certain out.
Yes, and if she were obstructed she would be protected by rule. I certainly have no reason why that rule would not be enforced. sorry I wasn't more clear. I guess I should have realized someone would read far more into it than I intended...arrrgggh
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Sorry to hear that, but that's life in the big city.

Of course, these comments were specific to the play at hand. Not much different than OBS on a BR between the plate and 1B on a caught fly ball.
I undertand, but your you first post confuses me in that it stated that "Had the OBS not occurred, R1 still would have been out.". It either is, or is not, OBS. If it is, I certainly don't need to tell you that the runner cannot be called out. If you meant that you would not have had OBS, then it's a matter of judgement, not rules.

BTW, how many people do live in Wilmington?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 20, 2008, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
I undertand, but your you first post confuses me in that it stated that "Had the OBS not occurred, R1 still would have been out.". It either is, or is not, OBS. If it is, I certainly don't need to tell you that the runner cannot be called out. If you meant that you would not have had OBS, then it's a matter of judgement, not rules.

I think you are confusing who he said is out. He is saying R1 is protected from the OBS. However, the BR (B2 in the original posting) is not protected since they were not OBS and the OBS had no bearing on their being out.

Last edited by Dholloway1962; Mon Oct 20, 2008 at 10:23pm. Reason: spelling error
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 06:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962 View Post
I think you are confusing who he said is out. He is saying R1 is protected from the OBS. However, the BR (B2 in the original posting) is not protected since they were not OBS and the OBS had no bearing on their being out.
I don't think so. I see no mention of the BR in the OP or Irish's other than her hitting the ball to F4. Read it again.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 07:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
F4 made the choice (not to tag and go for the force) and then obstructing (she now has to deal with it)... I have R1 safe at second and the BR (im guessing safe?? at first... unless they threw her out for the force, nothing about it in the OP). conversation goes like this... DC: blue you cant call that? BU: that's obstruction coach...lets play ball. (6 words)
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
F4 made the choice (not to tag and go for the force) and then obstructing (she now has to deal with it)... I have R1 safe at second and the BR (im guessing safe?? at first... unless they threw her out for the force, nothing about it in the OP). conversation goes like this... DC: blue you cant call that? BU: that's obstruction coach...lets play ball. (6 words)
That is horrible. Terrible. You made up OBS. Its easy to end a conversation with a coach in any number of ways; that is the easy part; it is better to understand the rules and their intent and to get it right.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Tue Oct 21, 2008 at 10:09am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
F4 made the choice (not to tag and go for the force) and then obstructing (she now has to deal with it)... I have R1 safe at second and the BR (im guessing safe?? at first... unless they threw her out for the force, nothing about it in the OP). conversation goes like this... DC: blue you cant call that? BU: that's obstruction coach...lets play ball. (6 words)
Well, the ball is dead when an obstructed runner is put out. Here's an alternative scenario that one of the more veteran folks can check that covers how I think it should go down in the case where you actually have obstruction (which as many have noted you don't in this play.)

New play with blatant obstruction to simplify:
R1 on 1B. Ball hit to F6 playing close to Second with F4 shifted toward first. F4 collides with R1 a few steps before F6 gets to the bag. F6 to F3 to retire the BR well before the ball gets there. No chance that R1 could have beaten F6 to the bag.

Now, since I called obstruction on a runner who was put out the play the ball was immediately ruled dead (which deals with your parenthetical). The rules say to put everyone where in my judgment they would have gotten if not for the obstruction. I'm not sure that awarding them both seats in the dugout is quite the intent though. So in my OP, as I've understood it, I've got both runners safe because of F4's obstruction. If on the other hand, F6 doesn't step on the base, then I can get the out on BR and put R1 back on 1B.

Does that all sound right?
________
Infants Avandia

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
I don't think so. I see no mention of the BR in the OP or Irish's other than her hitting the ball to F4. Read it again.
I did misread it...sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
I undertand, but your you first post confuses me in that it stated that "Had the OBS not occurred, R1 still would have been out.". It either is, or is not, OBS. If it is, I certainly don't need to tell you that the runner cannot be called out. If you meant that you would not have had OBS, then it's a matter of judgement, not rules.
If that is what you are looking for, fine, you got it.

Quote:
BTW, how many people do live in Wilmington?
Don't know, don't care especially since I've never lived in Wilmington.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference or Obstruction or Neither David M Baseball 8 Tue May 08, 2007 03:13pm
Obstruction or interference Carl Childress Baseball 119 Sat Dec 03, 2005 02:21pm
Interference / Obstruction/ Anything? BigGref Baseball 8 Thu Apr 21, 2005 09:33am
interference vs obstruction... thumpferee Baseball 2 Mon May 24, 2004 07:33am
Obstruction and Interference spots101 Baseball 6 Sun Mar 03, 2002 02:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1