![]() |
interference or obstruction?
R1 on 1st base. B2 hits ball to F4, standing in baseline. F4 has opportunity to tag R1 but decides to toss ball to F6 for force out. Ball reaches F6 in plenty of time for force but R1 in attempting to reach 2nd base runs into F4 without the ball.
I call obstruction on F4. Did I make right call? |
Speaking ASA - Sounds a bit HTBT to me. Like the runners, defensive players can't just go "poof" once they throw the ball. F4 had a right to be where she was when she was fielding the ball, as well as when she possessed the ball. Once she threw the ball, unless I see her intentionally trying to hinder the runner, I've got an out.
|
Quote:
Speaking ASA Where was the ball when R1 ran into F4? If in F6's glove, R1 is no longer a runner. Even if it was an extremely slow toss of the ball, the purpose of OBS is to off-set the affect of the obstruction. Had the OBS not occurred, R1 still would have been out. |
Pretty close to Dave, but I don't think I want to use the discussion point with a coach that fielders without the ball can't go poof. Standing in the basepath without possession of the ball and not actively (any more) fielding the ball, and hindering the runner (even unintentionally) is the very definition of obstruction; that conversation could easily lead to a protest that might have to be upheld.
In my conversation, the runner was already out before the apparent obstruction, and retired runners have no rights to continue running unimpeded. |
Quote:
Give 'em an inch, they'll take a mile. Anyway, I still have an out. |
Besides, if you turn to Page One of your unofficial umpire's manual, you will note the first sentence reads "When in doubt, get an out." :D
Somewhat more seriously, I do not have obs here as the play is described. If, in the sole judgement of the umpire, there is no frickin way she was going to get to the bag before being put out, there is no obs. Caveat: It is a judgement call. If the BU rules obs, then it's obs. We might visit about it out back after the game, but it is a judgement call. |
Quote:
:( :mad: |
Quote:
Quote:
I do. |
Quote:
So what would you rule and why?? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Of course, these comments were specific to the play at hand. Not much different than OBS on a BR between the plate and 1B on a caught fly ball. |
Quote:
I know your comments were specific to the play at hand, but in general, a runner is protected between the bases where the obs occurred EVEN IF the runner was a certain out. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
BTW, how many people do live in Wilmington? |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38am. |