Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC
14U ASA (not that it matters) Pool Game. Runners on 1st and 2nd. 1 out.
B3 hits a soft liner (some arc, but not a lot) to F6's right, who runs real hard, gets it in her glove, but drops it (not intentionally). Picks it up and throws to F5 for a force at 3rd.
At this point someone (I can't be sure if it was a coach or a player, I'm pretty sure it was the coach, R1 says it was) yelled "wasn't that an Infield Fly?" BU replies "Must not have been, she didn't catch it." Coach goes ballistic, runs towards the PU saying, "He can't say that to my players. You've got to stop the clock. He can't say that to my player. Get the UIC."
Clock (ok, kitchen timer on the backstop) is stopped, UIC is summoned, Coach gets the UIC's ear for a couple of minutes, eventually game goes on.
Thoughts?
|
First point is I'm still looking for anytime the umpire said anything to a player.
Second, the OP seems clear this was a line drive which would mean the play cannot be an IF, by rule.
Third, if the coach isn't going to like the answer, he shouldn't ask the question.