The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 06, 2008, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
foul tip or foul ball

I seem to remember this discussion a while ago but don't remember the answer. We had this happen today in a HS Federation game. 2 strikes and the batter hits ball directly and sharply back. Ball first contacts the catcher's mitt and then her chest protector. She then grabs the ball with her bare hand and secures it against the CP. The rule book says it is a foul tip if the ball goes sharply and directly to the catcher's mitt or bare hand and is secured by the catcher. It doesn't mention what happens if it happens in the order that I describe. It seems to me both requirements for a foul tip have been met but am not sure if when it hit the CP if that made it a foul ball or not. I cannot find an exact play like this in the case book. Any help would be appreciated. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 06, 2008, 04:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck
I seem to remember this discussion a while ago but don't remember the answer. We had this happen today in a HS Federation game. 2 strikes and the batter hits ball directly and sharply back. Ball first contacts the catcher's mitt and then her chest protector. She then grabs the ball with her bare hand and secures it against the CP. The rule book says it is a foul tip if the ball goes sharply and directly to the catcher's mitt or bare hand and is secured by the catcher. It doesn't mention what happens if it happens in the order that I describe. It seems to me both requirements for a foul tip have been met but am not sure if when it hit the CP if that made it a foul ball or not. I cannot find an exact play like this in the case book. Any help would be appreciated. Dave
This would be a foul tip, with the possible issue that this may not be a legal catch. I've underlined the problem phrase (for me) in your description.

The rule book says "caught by the catcher", not "secured". Trapping the ball against the catcher's equipment is not a legal catch. If the catcher made a legal catch, you have a foul tip. If not, a foul ball.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 06, 2008, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
This would be a foul tip, with the possible issue that this may not be a legal catch. I've underlined the problem phrase (for me) in your description.

The rule book says "caught by the catcher", not "secured". Trapping the ball against the catcher's equipment is not a legal catch. If the catcher made a legal catch, you have a foul tip. If not, a foul ball.
Unless this ball drops to the ground, is it not "caught" the moment the catcher securely holds the ball in his/her hand?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 06, 2008, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
At some time the catcher must have the ball in her bare hand in order to get it back to the pitcher or roll the ball to pitcher's circle. I thought if it hadn't touched the ground at this point, it would be a foul tip. My PU partner simply called it a foul ball. I said I was pretty sure it was a foul tip, but since I wasn't 100% sure, we left it at a foul ball. I think we got it wrong. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 06, 2008, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 161
Send a message via Skype™ to 7in60
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck
At some time the catcher must have the ball in her bare hand in order to get it back to the pitcher or roll the ball to pitcher's circle. I thought if it hadn't touched the ground at this point, it would be a foul tip. My PU partner simply called it a foul ball. I said I was pretty sure it was a foul tip, but since I wasn't 100% sure, we left it at a foul ball. I think we got it wrong. Dave
You got it right. If the ball goes directly to her glove but isn't caught at that moment, it's just a foul ball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 06, 2008, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7in60
You got it right. If the ball goes directly to her glove but isn't caught at that moment, it's just a foul ball.
That is not correct. It doesn't need to be caught "at that moment." It just needs to be caught by the catcher.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 06, 2008, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Unless this ball drops to the ground, is it not "caught" the moment the catcher securely holds the ball in his/her hand?
Yes, and it probably was a catch, but "securely hold the ball in her hand" was not what he said. He said she secured it against the chest protector.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 07, 2008, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Yes, and it probably was a catch, but "securely hold the ball in her hand" was not what he said. He said she secured it against the chest protector.
That is true, but how was the ball released? As previously noted. unless the ball is just allowed to drop to the ground from the trapped position or fumbled and dropped, it must have been held securely in the hand at some point prior to the release of the ball by the catcher.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 07, 2008, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
That is true, but how was the ball released? As previously noted. unless the ball is just allowed to drop to the ground from the trapped position or fumbled and dropped, it must have been held securely in the hand at some point prior to the release of the ball by the catcher.
Agreed....that piece of the puzzle is missing.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 07, 2008, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
I was correct on the field when I said it was a foul tip, but like I said, wasn't 100% sure at the time so didn't push the issue. Now with the help from some of you, I can see it was a foul tip, no doubt. It surely was a protestable ruling. I am glad it happened in a relative blowout, with the coach oblivious to the correct ruling. It was a good learning experience. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 07, 2008, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
A few months ago, we discussed the following play in ASA:

Ball goes sharp and direct off the bat, hits the catcher's hand, ricochets to her shoulder, and gets trapped behind the chest protector. Since in ASA a ball trapped in a defensive player's equipment is in play, if the catcher reaches in and secures the ball in her hand, this is a foul tip, regardless of how long it took her to secure the ball.

However, if the ball falls out onto the ground, or if the pitcher reaches in and pulls it out, it's just a foul ball.

I'm not sure whether Fed would consider that a foul tip (i.e., whether a ball trapped in a defensive player's equipment is in play—in NCAA, it's just a foul ball).

I'm also not sure whether in Fed a player other than the catcher can catch a foul tip. In ASA, it must be the catcher.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 07, 2008, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
greymule, in Federation all action has to be by the catcher. If another fielder touches the ball it is just like it touched the ground. So you say NCAA has a different rule? Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 07, 2008, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
So you say NCAA has a different rule?

NCAA is different from ASA as regards a ball trapped/lodged in a defensive player's equipment. In ASA, the ball is live; not so in NCAA. I don't know Fed's rule on this, though I seem to remember that in Fed baseball, it's a dead ball.

If as you say only the catcher in Fed can catch a foul tip, then Fed is in line with NCAA and ASA.

There's some code under which any defensive player can catch a foul tip. Maybe that's Fed baseball.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Sun Sep 07, 2008 at 08:29pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul tip caught, foul ball, or out? bossman72 Baseball 9 Sun Jul 09, 2006 11:03pm
Foul Ball Out or Dead Ball/Foul Ball Frank Drebin Baseball 1 Sat Apr 30, 2005 06:50am
USSSA Foul tip vs. Foul ball sunfudblu Baseball 2 Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:08pm
foul tip / foul ball Buckeye12 Baseball 9 Fri Jun 07, 2002 01:42am
Foul Tip of Foul ball Dave Davies Baseball 7 Fri Aug 25, 2000 07:54pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1