![]() |
|
|||
Does the run score?
The following play was posted in the Softball Umpiring Discussion Forum on the NFHS website. I would like to entertain fast pitch rulings from NFHS, NCAA, ASA (including ISA rules), and USSSA.
Bases loaded with two (2) outs when B4 draws a walk. R1 saunters down the base path from third base towards home plate. R2 runs from second base, tags third base, and makes the turn at third base and takes a few steps toward home plate. F2, who still has not thrown the ball back to F1 sees that R2 has rounded third base and fires the ball to F5 who tags R2 before R2 can return to third base. F5 tag of R2 occurs before R1 has touched home plate. Assuming that R1 does touch home plate, does the run count. It is my humble opinion that R1's run counts. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Score the run | soundedlikeastrike | Baseball | 73 | Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:51pm |
Score Out? | soclueless | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:59pm |
How do you score it? | bigdave622 | Softball | 8 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:59am |
How do you score this? | BigUmpJohn | Softball | 4 | Sun Jun 15, 2003 03:44pm |
Does the run score? | 18597 | Softball | 4 | Sat Sep 07, 2002 09:03am |