The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2008, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Based on ASA (and most other, if not all) rules, you have it exactly right.

By rule, R1 cannot be put out (by the defense) between the bases where she was obstructed. In your scenario, that's first and second.

When F6 throws to second for the force out on R1, an obstructed runner has been "put out" by the defense between the bases she was obstructed. This is an immediate dead ball. Award R1 second base, because you can't send her back to first. BR is awarded first base.

In this case, your judgement about whether R1 would be out or safe at second does not matter - the written rule takes precedence.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clarification David B Baseball 6 Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:42pm
Clarification please PGCougar Baseball 7 Mon Jul 10, 2006 01:02am
HBP clarification please MisterV Softball 2 Mon May 10, 2004 09:45am
Obstuction Jeff Carr Baseball 1 Sat Apr 20, 2002 07:08am
Clarification jackgil Basketball 9 Mon Feb 21, 2000 09:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1