The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 1.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2008, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Rule 8-5-G-4 and RS on Overthrows state clearly that if the umpire errs in making a base award, the error cannot be corrected after a pitch. While the statement is made pertaining to overthrows, lacking any other guidance, I would consider this a general principle on base award errors by the umpire.

No correction should have been made in the OP situation.

Also, if the umpire used rule 10, presumably he was using 10-3-C, which only applies to calls reversed or late calls, not to any general error by the umpire. And, even with that, it is not possible to make the rectification after a pitch.

The umpires, IMO, compounded their original error in not making the base award by misapplying 10-3-C and by "correcting" an error than could not be corrected.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Mon Jul 07, 2008 at 10:40am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big Mistake PIAA REF Basketball 27 Fri Feb 16, 2007 04:55pm
AP Mistake jdw3018 Basketball 3 Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:20am
Time out Mistake garote Basketball 5 Fri Jan 16, 2004 11:06am
Another ASA mistake? greymule Softball 6 Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:07pm
1-and-1 Mistake firedoc Basketball 2 Mon Feb 11, 2002 10:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1