The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member

Trash Talking Goes Too Far

This has been one of the most talked about news stories in Rochester, NY since Sunday.

I've been playing in a slowpitch league for 9 years now in the Henrietta league that is mentioned in the article. I've never seen anything like this.

A softball player died Monday after taking a blow to the head from a player on an opposing team over the weekend.

Quote:
Daniel Andrews, 37, of Hilton played in his usual Sunday softball league at Forks Park off Manitou Road in Parma with his Pallet Express team. According to the Monroe County Sheriff's Office, when the game was over about 2:30 p.m., Andrews was punched below the ear by a player from the opposing team, who then took off running.
Quote:
Andrews was taken to Unity Hospital in Greece after Sunday's game and then was transferred to Strong Memorial Hospital because of the severity of his injury. He remained on life support Monday, but Strong spokesman Mark Michaud confirmed Monday evening that Andrews had died. He added that Andrews' family was too distraught to comment or release further details on Andrews' death.

Quote:
According to reports from the Sheriff's Office, there had been trash talk among some players throughout Sunday's game. When the teams went to line up to shake hands, Helfer said, Andrews was punched with a closed fist in the back of the head.

Sanders fled and a search ensued, with State Police using a helicopter. Sheriff's deputies found Sanders about 8 p.m. after they received a phone call from residents of Frisbee Hill Road who had seen him in the area.
Click link to read entire article.
Old Tue Jul 01, 2008, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member