![]() |
|
|||
That's a good one... and similiar to one I had to handle in our Metros two weeks back...
Our scenario: Last game of the night under lights, team playing shorthanded due to prom. They have 1 out already. B8 hits a triple. When all playing action stopped, the PU suspended the game because there was only 5 minutes or so left on the field lights. The next day the game resumed, and the team has about 5 more eligible rostered players available. The question posed: Did the automatic out happen in B9's spot the night before, or can the coach put a player in B9's spot now and not take the out. Basically, do we have: 1 out, R8 on 3B, Sub in B9 and B9 bats. or 2 out, R8 on 3B, B1 bats. Our Metro UIC ruled that the out happened last night, and the situation was now 2 outs, R8 on 3B, B1 comes to bat. His theory was this: just like a new inning begins immediately after the 3rd out is made in the previous inning, the automatic out happens immediately after the batter completes her at-bat and playing action had stopped... whether the PU declared the out or not. So in your situation, I would think that playing action had not yet stopped... and I'd let the run count.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
An Interesting Take | Bassman | Baseball | 6 | Tue Jul 10, 2007 06:05pm |
interesting boo-boo | lrpalmer3 | Basketball | 56 | Wed Sep 22, 2004 01:29pm |
Very Interesting | His High Holiness | Baseball | 1 | Tue Jul 13, 2004 03:15pm |
My interesting day. | Skahtboi | Softball | 5 | Mon Oct 14, 2002 11:56am |