![]() |
|
|
|||
#1. How can a player carry a ball that, by rule, they have not caught?
#2. I think there is no question that the runner's departure from the field of play was not intentional in any manner, let alone to prevent runners from advancing. #3. It seems there are a few folks trying to insert conditions not provided for in this and a few other scenarios recently. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the crook of his arm? Balanced on the tip of his nose? ![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
But this goes back to my question that you didn't answer. Here it is with more detail. Would you give a ground rule double if while fielding a ball near the out of play line it's kicked out of play after the batter gets past 1st? If it had happened last night, I'd have given them third. But from this discussion it seems the general consensus is that is still a ground rule double? I thought that if a player goes to play on a ball that is in play and they inadvertently cause that ball to go out of play that we had two bases from the time of the mistake not two bases from the pitch (which is the result of a book rule double). As for intent, that's how I read the OP. She figured she had the third out and ran the rest of the way into the dugout. The OP says she took three steps after the catch. But the more I think about it, I'm not sure that's relevant. ________ Glass weed pipe Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:15pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
However, you may be right, but since it wasn't clearly stated that it was intentional, I did not address it. If Canump comes back and states it seemed intentional, then we have another scenario with which to deal. |
|
|||
Quote:
He said that F7 was on a full run when she tried for the shoe string catch, started bobbling the ball immediately and was trying to straighten up at the same time, first touch was just about 2 steps from the edge of the infeild. She bobbled the ball about 5 or 6 times. So if you all can imagine, it was probably quite comical to watch. He said even as F7 gained some what control of the ball " even tho it was not in her glove or hand but controled between her arm and body with her arm in a craddle like position" she was only a good step and a half away from the gate opening of her bench and as she passed thru the opening she was still in a stumbling, full out right run trying to straighten up. I know this diamond well, the 2nd gate opening is 8' past the bag, the bench stops about 10' from the opening and there is no enclosure around the bench so as F7 entered the only obsticle would have been equipment bags etc. The PU stated that he's sure there was no intent, he hesitated as to what to call, he didn't know the run diference but knew it was a lot, bottom of the 6th and raining. He wanted the out and called such. He said if it would have been close game he would have conferred with his partner as he was not sure what the right call is. Thank you all for your input, as i read them I have changed my way of thinking, as IRISH says it was not a controlled catch by the book. So I figure batted fair ball going out of play, ground rule dble, 2 runs score. BUT I do see where the kid was coming from wanting the out under those conditions. Thanks |
|
|||
OK, it took to post 12 to get the obviously correct answer.
Also, even though I joke about calls and SZ in rainy seventh innings, see below.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
award bases | RadDad2005 | Softball | 9 | Thu Sep 08, 2005 11:45am |
Award 1 or 2 Bases? | jicecone | Baseball | 36 | Thu May 12, 2005 07:02am |
Base Award | LDUB | Baseball | 6 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 07:39am |
How do you award bases to the runner? | spots101 | Baseball | 13 | Sat May 18, 2002 12:21am |
Award Bases | razrback | Baseball | 2 | Wed May 15, 2002 12:20pm |