Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump
Would you give a ground rule double if while fielding a ball near the out of play line it's kicked out of play after the batter gets past 1st?
|
Yes.
Quote:
I thought that if a player goes to play on a ball that is in play and they inadvertently cause that ball to go out of play that we had two bases from the time of the mistake not two bases from the pitch (which is the result of a book rule double).
|
Rule book clearly says all runners get two bases from the TOP (8.5.I.Effect)
Quote:
As for intent, that's how I read the OP. She figured she had the third out and ran the rest of the way into the dugout. The OP says she took three steps after the catch. But the more I think about it, I'm not sure that's relevant.
|
Well, intent is something you have to judge. Since the player was struggling to get control of the ball, I doubt she had control of herself. As I read the OP, is seemed that the gate being where she was heading is consequential.
However, you may be right, but since it wasn't clearly stated that it was intentional, I did not address it. If Canump comes back and states it seemed intentional, then we have another scenario with which to deal.