The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
To be clear with two outs, if we have a catch, there is no rule in question. The fielder can go into DBT with the ball. (Albeit, I'd rather they left it on the mound for the next pitcher.)
________
Problems with wellbutrin

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
While the rule is informally called "catch and carry" the rule itself only says "unintentionally carried." It says nothing about requiring a catch first.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
In my cave, when ASA 1.Catch and Carry says:
"A legal catch that a defensive player carries into dead ball territory."

I believe it is pretty much stating that the rules for a legal catch come into play. With that in mind, if F7 didn't 'legally catch' the ball, then we can't apply the unintentional catch/carry rule, ASA 8.5.J
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
... ASA 1.Catch and Carry says:
"A legal catch that a defensive player carries into dead ball territory."...
Yeah, I know, but the rule itself does not use the phrase "catch and carry." Just "carry." I wasn't arguing the interp; only pointing out the rule book defines a term and then does not use it in the rule.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
In my cave, when ASA 1.Catch and Carry says:
"A legal catch that a defensive player carries into dead ball territory."

I believe it is pretty much stating that the rules for a legal catch come into play. With that in mind, if F7 didn't 'legally catch' the ball, then we can't apply the unintentional catch/carry rule, ASA 8.5.J
where does 8.5.J ever mention having to have caught the ball?

It says "when a live ball is unintentionally carried by a fielder from live ball territory". Then gives an example of a fielder running into a dugout to tag a player. Effect ball is dead and all runners are awarded one base from where they were when the ball left the field of play.

Why does this not apply to this situation...ball touched in fair ball and was unintentionally carried out of play.

8.5.I deals with a ball "Deflects off a defensive player and goes out of play into foul ball territory". This ball never deflected. Also talks about a fair batted ball that bounces over or goes through the fence.

To me looks like 8.5.J. is the most applicable rule.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Without actually defining 'carried', in my judgement, ASA is stating (ASA 1. Catch and Carry plus 8.5.J) that in order to carry a ball, it must be legally caught. If it is not legally caught, then it was never in control of the defensive player and couldn't be carried.

That is the way I am interpreting those two rules.

I might be wrong - it wouldn't be the first time, just the next.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
award bases RadDad2005 Softball 9 Thu Sep 08, 2005 11:45am
Award 1 or 2 Bases? jicecone Baseball 36 Thu May 12, 2005 07:02am
Base Award LDUB Baseball 6 Wed Apr 21, 2004 07:39am
How do you award bases to the runner? spots101 Baseball 13 Sat May 18, 2002 12:21am
Award Bases razrback Baseball 2 Wed May 15, 2002 12:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1