The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
PU told him that since control was made before feilder entered dead ball territory the out stands.

But you said that control wasn't established until the fielder entered DBT. Apparently you and the PU disagree on this judgment part of the call.

Me I'm thinking it's an invalid catch as control was not in glove or hand, dead ball when F7 enters dead ball area, one base award to runners, B1 on 1st.

I think I understand the above sentence, but a crucial element is missing in the OP: Was the ball fair or foul? Was the fielder's first touch of the ball over fair territory or foul? According to your description, in neither case was it a legal catch. If the ball was first touched foul, then it's just a foul ball. If the ball was fair, I guess you would treat it not as catch and carry but as a fair ball that bounces off a fielder into foul DBT and award two bases.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
award bases RadDad2005 Softball 9 Thu Sep 08, 2005 11:45am
Award 1 or 2 Bases? jicecone Baseball 36 Thu May 12, 2005 07:02am
Base Award LDUB Baseball 6 Wed Apr 21, 2004 07:39am
How do you award bases to the runner? spots101 Baseball 13 Sat May 18, 2002 12:21am
Award Bases razrback Baseball 2 Wed May 15, 2002 12:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1