The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
PU told him that since control was made before feilder entered dead ball territory the out stands.

But you said that control wasn't established until the fielder entered DBT. Apparently you and the PU disagree on this judgment part of the call.

Me I'm thinking it's an invalid catch as control was not in glove or hand, dead ball when F7 enters dead ball area, one base award to runners, B1 on 1st.

I think I understand the above sentence, but a crucial element is missing in the OP: Was the ball fair or foul? Was the fielder's first touch of the ball over fair territory or foul? According to your description, in neither case was it a legal catch. If the ball was first touched foul, then it's just a foul ball. If the ball was fair, I guess you would treat it not as catch and carry but as a fair ball that bounces off a fielder into foul DBT and award two bases.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
IMO,

If ball was first touched fair all runners awarded 1 base. Based on unintentionally carrying ball into DBT, Rule 8-5-J.

If ball first touched foul, you have a foul ball. My question on that, since it was a live ball when first touched, do you award all runners 1 base and rule a foul ball on the batter?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
I don't have a book here to look this up, but isn't it two bases from the time it left in play territory since it's a ball intentionally deflected out of play?
________
HOW TO ROLL A BLUNT

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump
I don't have a book here to look this up, but isn't it two bases from the time it left in play territory since it's a ball intentionally deflected out of play?
If intentional yes it is 2 bases. OP sounds like unintentional, momentum took her there
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
I agree with greymule.

We don't have a catch, so we can't enforce the catch/carry rule.

If batted ball is ruled fair, two base award.

If batted ball is ruled foul, foul ball.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
To be clear with two outs, if we have a catch, there is no rule in question. The fielder can go into DBT with the ball. (Albeit, I'd rather they left it on the mound for the next pitcher.)
________
Problems with wellbutrin

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
While the rule is informally called "catch and carry" the rule itself only says "unintentionally carried." It says nothing about requiring a catch first.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2008, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
In my cave, when ASA 1.Catch and Carry says:
"A legal catch that a defensive player carries into dead ball territory."

I believe it is pretty much stating that the rules for a legal catch come into play. With that in mind, if F7 didn't 'legally catch' the ball, then we can't apply the unintentional catch/carry rule, ASA 8.5.J
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
award bases RadDad2005 Softball 9 Thu Sep 08, 2005 11:45am
Award 1 or 2 Bases? jicecone Baseball 36 Thu May 12, 2005 07:02am
Base Award LDUB Baseball 6 Wed Apr 21, 2004 07:39am
How do you award bases to the runner? spots101 Baseball 13 Sat May 18, 2002 12:21am
Award Bases razrback Baseball 2 Wed May 15, 2002 12:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1