![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Experience is valued least by those without it." ASA, NFHS, PONY, USSSA, NCAA |
|
|||
Here are some opinions; http://www.nfhs.org/cgi-bin/ultimate...;f=13;t=001039
Replay to me shows runner definitely out of the lane, throw was not a "quality" throw, runner seemed to beat the throw, is all the opinion I have. This was a judgement call by an excellent plate umpire. Runner is out. |
|
|||
Quote:
As disappointed as I have been to have a baseball commentator instead of a softball expert, Kruk was the one in the booth who pointed that out as well as the other play about the ball hitting the bat not the batter.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
However, in real time, on the field, I can understand why the call was made. She was was in the right postion and called what she saw.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
I didnt agree with the call she made because she was yelling for the infraction before the throw was even made. She didnt wait for the play to progress to see if the throw would even be on time or not. The player most certainly stepped on the bag before the throw ever got there, which made the questionable lane violation mute. Not only that, the throw wasnt even straight up the line. The bunt had traveled a few feet down the 3rd base line and there was an angle on the throw, the catcher just plain missed.
There was a similar call the day before, and in that case it was obvious and the correct call was made. The girl was at least 3' inside the lane even when she got to 1st and the throw hit her in the helmet. |
|
|||
ok to all that disagree... here is what I have to say: The runner was outside the 3ft lane. The runner also collided with a fielder making a play on the ball in the space the she is allowed to legally occupy where as the runner was not in the area she is leagally aloud to occupy. sure you can speculate that the br "would have beat the throw by two steps" but the rule doesnt say if the offensive player who causes the interference would have been safe anyway ignore the interference. The dead ball call could not be avoided f3 had a play and that play was a potential to catch the ball and swipe tag br. so per the NCAA rule book the runner being played on is out and that means BR had the likely potential in that case to be swiped tagged via the off line throw and by colliding with f3 when the br should have been at least in the space she is allowed to occupy (aka 3ft lane) and was not in that space which hindered f3's play on the throw which is interference. Now if F3 is moving to catch a "non attainable" ball which pulls her into the 3ft lane and thus obstructs the runner there is obs(the Non attainable throw would be like a throw to rf way out of any effort from f3). and even then its morelikely a No-Call because they are both trying to do what they are supposed to do as respective members of the offense and defense.
Last edited by kcg NC2Ablu; Mon Jun 02, 2008 at 11:16am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ucla - Asu | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 8 | Sat May 31, 2008 10:09am |
Cal/UCLA DD?? | rainmaker | Basketball | 25 | Sun Mar 09, 2008 05:17pm |
Usc-ucla | rainmaker | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 21, 2008 03:00pm |
UCLA Texas & UCLA NW | tcblue13 | Softball | 3 | Mon Jun 05, 2006 04:53pm |
LSU/UCLA | oppool | Softball | 9 | Mon May 28, 2001 10:40am |