The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by CelticNHBlue
As is often the case, I learned something new about mechanics from a coach. Apparently the proper mechanic when you are responsible for a specific runner/base is to focus all your energy on said runner/base and not be aware of anything else in the game.

Sit:

I am U3, rotated (R1 only), base hit, R1 to third, BR in rundown between 1B and 2B (U1 has rotated home with R1's advance), R1 now tries for home and avoids tag with a nice sweep slide away from the catcher. U1 at home is straight-lined and can't see the missed tag, however I have the perfect angle at 2B and overturn call after a conference. Coach can't believe I could see the play because my responsibility was the runner standing on 2B.

Best part of the sit - when coach barked "Who changed that call", and I indicated it was me, he yells across the field, "Get over here" not once but twice; because of course I wasn't moving after he said it the first time, or anytime after that.
Actually, you cannot overturn any other umpire's call. If he asks, you can provide information that he may have missed, but it is still his decision to accept that information and change his call.

It would seem that U1 had plenty of time to be at home and to manuever to get the necessary angles to make this call. No reason, from your post, that I can see where he shouldn't have been there to make the call, and, if as you say, he was "straightlined and can't see the missed tag," that would also mean that he couldn't see the tag either, in which case his proper call would have been to make a safe call. In which case, there would have been nothing to overturn.

Now to the last part of your post, please tell me that the coach was not there to make that demand a third time!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
And what is it with all of these "Irish" umpires in this thread?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
Actually, you cannot overturn any other umpire's call. If he asks, you can provide information that he may have missed, but it is still his decision to accept that information and change his call.

It would seem that U1 had plenty of time to be at home and to manuever to get the necessary angles to make this call. No reason, from your post, that I can see where he shouldn't have been there to make the call, and, if as you say, he was "straightlined and can't see the missed tag," that would also mean that he couldn't see the tag either, in which case his proper call would have been to make a safe call. In which case, there would have been nothing to overturn.

Now to the last part of your post, please tell me that the coach was not there to make that demand a third time!

What if plate umpire felt he/she did not get a good look with the developing play and asked U3 "did you see a tag?" What if U3 did in fact see a tag? Wouldn't that be something to overturn?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2008, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by socalumps
What if plate umpire felt he/she did not get a good look with the developing play and asked U3 "did you see a tag?" What if U3 did in fact see a tag? Wouldn't that be something to overturn?
The point is that, per the book, no umpire can overturn another umpire's call. You can provide an umpire that made a call with additional information such that he can change his own call, but you can't change his call for him.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 14, 2008, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC
The point is that, per the book, no umpire can overturn another umpire's call. You can provide an umpire that made a call with additional information such that he can change his own call, but you can't change his call for him.
One of my favorite quotes of the year...

I'm U1 in a 3-umpire crew. Bases loaded. F2 dropped a ball on a force at the plate, but PU was screened and ruled out. He changed his call after a quick umpire conference. OC approaches and says, "You can't let them overturn your call!" PU responded, "They didn't overturn my call. They provided me with a veritable plethora of additional information."
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 14, 2008, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad
One of my favorite quotes of the year...

I'm U1 in a 3-umpire crew. Bases loaded. F2 dropped a ball on a force at the plate, but PU was screened and ruled out. He changed his call after a quick umpire conference. OC approaches and says, "You can't let them overturn your call!" PU responded, "They didn't overturn my call. They provided me with a veritable plethora of additional information."
Think the coach pulled out a dictionary when s/he got home?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New NCAA Free Kick Mechanic Zebra29 Football 4 Mon Aug 13, 2007 09:44pm
New NCAA mechanic? Back In The Saddle Basketball 1 Thu Dec 29, 2005 04:30pm
NCAA W Mechanic tjones1 Basketball 3 Thu Dec 01, 2005 09:59am
pet peeve - Last second shot - NCAA Men's mechanic Dewey1 Basketball 13 Wed Jan 21, 2004 08:01pm
3-person mechanic NCAA Men v Women Nick_O Basketball 10 Thu Dec 04, 2003 08:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1