The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2008, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
NFHS interference

Runners at 1st and 2nd, 2 outs. Batter hits foul fly ball near first base. Good old fashioned plain vanilla interference by runner at first, knocks first baseman outta the way.

HP umpire calls immediate dead ball for interference.

So my question is (and I am serious here) what do you do with the runner at 2B? The batter?

I will tell you what happened later. I would like to get some input first. Thank you.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2008, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
The answer is always the same for this stuff though..

DB
Interfering player is out.
DP for 2 outs? No/Yes .. ump decides
runners return to base last touched at time of int.

So its most likely foul ball, R2 out .. runners return.

Int is not a rule that should get complicated.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2008, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones
So my question is (and I am serious here) what do you do with the runner at 2B? The batter?
Interference, R2 is 3rd out. R1 can go get glove and prepare to play defense. Normally on interference, the batter has finished her time at bat. But interference on a foul fly ball is called a foul and batter stays at bat. Therefore she leads off next inning.

WMB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 19, 2008, 07:38am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
WMB cleared it up-

8-6-10/14 PENALTY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 19, 2008, 08:46am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Next question;

Do you tell the offensive coach that the same batter will lead off next inning, or not?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 19, 2008, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEL
Next question;

Do you tell the offensive coach that the same batter will lead off next inning, or not?
Not unless he asks.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 19, 2008, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEL
Next question;

Do you tell the offensive coach that the same batter will lead off next inning, or not?
Ding! Ding! Ding! We have a winner. Indeed, on a situation where this is a FOUL fly ball, the runner at first is out and the batter who struck the foul ball is the leadoff batter for the next inning.

Or is at least supposed to be.

Certainly do not tell them who is supposed to be leadoff batter for the next inning unless they ask. Otherwise you are taking a chance of depriving the defense of the opportunity to obtain an out for BOO. If they ask, do tell them...but be sure to tell them correctly.

BTW, if the ball is FAIR, the offending runner is out. The batter is awarded 1B. How they score it, I don't care...fielder's choice I suppose. On a FAIR ball in this situation, the leadoff batter for their next inning would be the person whose name follows that of the batter who struck the fair fly ball.

And, of course, the rule is different depending on your rule set. Ain't life grand?

Actually, it is grand, because we have the opportunity to umpire these games. Monday's game was a 3-1 barnburner. I was BU. You know how they talk about BU maybe only making six close calls a game...damn, I must've had 10 at least. Tuesday's game was 14-1. Today's game probably won't be that close. I still appreciate the opportunity, and I hope you do too.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 19, 2008, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,334
OK, agree, but some tangents:
1) wondered all the way through how a runner at 1st interferes with a play in foul ground, but I guess if it might have landed near the base
2) if obvious in foul ground all the way, the runner probably did it deliberately; so is it also UC?

3) main Q, what if the INT occurs in foul ground but it ends up being a fair ball? To me, that's just the same as any other fair batted ball and the BR gets 1st, not a continued at bat.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS: Verbal Interference w_sohl Baseball 14 Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:05pm
Pass Interference - NCAA & NFHS differences UmpJM Football 20 Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:41pm
Pass interference - change in NFHS rule kentref Football 29 Fri Jun 17, 2005 10:24am
NFHS Interference - Visual whiskers_ump Softball 23 Thu Feb 24, 2005 05:48pm
NFHS - Pass interference mikesears Football 7 Fri Sep 22, 2000 12:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1