![]() |
|
|||
|
NCAA bunt
NCAA rule 11.7.2.2 page 139, says On a missed bunt attempt with two strikes, the dropped third-strike rule applies. Can someone enlighten me on what that is saying? Are they saying that if the batter has two strikes, attempts a bunt, misses it, they can try to advance to first if first base is open or anytime there are two outs? I have never heard of this in any ruleset. Dave
|
|
|||
|
Not that I can recall it ever coming up, or that I see a lot of bunt attempts with two strikes, but...
Why wouldn't the missed bunt (ie: a strike) be treated exactly the same as any other third strike? I would assume that to be the case in every rule set. |
|
|||
|
It means treat the strike 3 bunt as you would any other strike 3.
Batter bunts and misses an 0-2 pitch in the dirt. It's now an uncaught 3rd strike.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
An uncaught third strike is always that, and the rule pertaining to it always applies.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Bunt | flemmer | Baseball | 74 | Mon Aug 06, 2007 05:41pm |
| when is a sac, bunt a hit | dougkrieger | Baseball | 2 | Tue May 03, 2005 05:49pm |
| Bunt? | Whowefoolin | Baseball | 8 | Wed Jun 12, 2002 09:37am |
| Bunt/No Bunt | djpfaffe | Baseball | 8 | Wed Apr 24, 2002 07:55am |
| When is a bunt not a bunt? | Dakota | Softball | 9 | Wed Oct 03, 2001 09:57pm |