Thread: NCAA bunt
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2008, 11:23am
Skahtboi Skahtboi is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck
NCAA rule 11.7.2.2 page 139, says On a missed bunt attempt with two strikes, the dropped third-strike rule applies. Can someone enlighten me on what that is saying? Are they saying that if the batter has two strikes, attempts a bunt, misses it, they can try to advance to first if first base is open or anytime there are two outs? I have never heard of this in any ruleset. Dave
D3K is in effect in every ruleset, even on a bunt. It is just that the NCAA has a way of overdescribing some things in their rule book, so it is possible that wording similar to this may not appear in the other rulesets.

An uncaught third strike is always that, and the rule pertaining to it always applies.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote