The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NCAA bunt (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/42543-ncaa-bunt.html)

shipwreck Fri Mar 07, 2008 09:00pm

NCAA bunt
 
NCAA rule 11.7.2.2 page 139, says On a missed bunt attempt with two strikes, the dropped third-strike rule applies. Can someone enlighten me on what that is saying? Are they saying that if the batter has two strikes, attempts a bunt, misses it, they can try to advance to first if first base is open or anytime there are two outs? I have never heard of this in any ruleset. Dave

BretMan Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:47pm

Not that I can recall it ever coming up, or that I see a lot of bunt attempts with two strikes, but...

Why wouldn't the missed bunt (ie: a strike) be treated exactly the same as any other third strike?

I would assume that to be the case in every rule set.

greymule Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:50pm

It means treat the strike 3 bunt as you would any other strike 3.

Batter bunts and misses an 0-2 pitch in the dirt. It's now an uncaught 3rd strike.

Skahtboi Sat Mar 08, 2008 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck
NCAA rule 11.7.2.2 page 139, says On a missed bunt attempt with two strikes, the dropped third-strike rule applies. Can someone enlighten me on what that is saying? Are they saying that if the batter has two strikes, attempts a bunt, misses it, they can try to advance to first if first base is open or anytime there are two outs? I have never heard of this in any ruleset. Dave

D3K is in effect in every ruleset, even on a bunt. It is just that the NCAA has a way of overdescribing some things in their rule book, so it is possible that wording similar to this may not appear in the other rulesets.

An uncaught third strike is always that, and the rule pertaining to it always applies.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1