The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Therein lies the problem with the way OBS is to be called by umpires. The rule itself is good but the mechanic has an issue. When an umpire calls OBS the runner is protected based on the judgement of the umpire. How in the heck is anyone supposed to know how far the umpire is protecting? Different umpires award different bases based on what they see. There has to be a way of letting coaches/runners know how far a runner is protected instead of guessing.
Absolutely not. That would just create more problems and complaint.

Coaches and players should play the game as it unfolds in front of them, not based on what they may or may not see or hear from an umpire. Coaches should coach the play, not the call.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Fresno Force 14U tourney.. they truck in umps from all over CA just to get the best umps for a VERY well run tourney.. no scrub umps.

(I think I posted when this happened and I'm a little shady now on the details...but I'll do my best, the point is the same)

So I'm working with Mr NCAA who lauded me with his NCAA accomplishments before the game..

I'm BU in C

Pop up on foul side of 3b line, F2 chasing, with a clear case of coaches interference, which definitely caused f2 to miss the ball. I hear the PU say something about "coaches obstruction".

So OK.. foul ball, F2 didnt make the play and I figure what the heck, hes calling it the wrong thing, but hes on top of it in general and stood there watching.

So he comes up, warns the coach for his obstruction, calls it a foul ball and back to playing we go.

I'm pretty well confounded.. but say nothing...

Tourney UIC was watching and approaches me after the game asking me what I saw. I told him it was clearly Interference by the coach. he agreed and asked me why I didnt do anything about it.. I told him I didnt want to show up my partner on the field, so I said nothing..


Sometimes you just eat the call for the sake of your on the field partnership, especially if "everyone is happy".

I cant see rushing in and attempting to change a call.. that could very well create a bigger problem than the bad call.

Of course, its your duty to raz him about his crappy call for the rest of the tourney.. which I did.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Tue Feb 26, 2008 at 09:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 06:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
In the OP, and its follow up, it reads that the runner walked to 2B then came off the bag and was called out for a LBR violation, as F1 had the ball in the circle. Some of the other posts here state that that was a correct call.

How could the runner be out for a LBR violation by coming off the bag if the runner did not stop or reverse direction? Coming off the bag does not constitute a LBR violation at the end of a play, even if an F1 has the ball in the circle, does it? What if the runner continued to the next base? How is any of that a LBR violation? (until runner stops or retreats)

I see this same as a BR hitting a two-base hit, ball is returned to F1 in circle as BR walks the last couple of steps to 2B and does not stop, but keeps walking toward 3B. That's not a LBR violation either, is it?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 06:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman15
In the OP, and its follow up, it reads that the runner walked to 2B then came off the bag and was called out for a LBR violation, as F1 had the ball in the circle. Some of the other posts here state that that was a correct call.

How could the runner be out for a LBR violation by coming off the bag if the runner did not stop or reverse direction? Coming off the bag does not constitute a LBR violation at the end of a play, even if an F1 has the ball in the circle, does it? What if the runner continued to the next base? How is any of that a LBR violation? (until runner stops or retreats)

I see this same as a BR hitting a two-base hit, ball is returned to F1 in circle as BR walks the last couple of steps to 2B and does not stop, but keeps walking toward 3B. That's not a LBR violation either, is it?
Thurman,
Go back and read that OP again. The runner stopped on 2B - with the ball in F1's possession in the circle, that runner is locked to 2B. She stepped off, so that's a LBR.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 06:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman15

How could the runner be out for a LBR violation by coming off the bag if the runner did not stop or reverse direction?
How do you know she did not stop or reverse direction? If her team was in the first base dugout, that sounds like a reverse in direction.

I'm think the perception of the OP by many was that the runner did stop on 2B then looked up at the umpire. However, you are just as correct as anyone assuming the opposite since the runner's actions were not detailed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
I dictated the actions as i saw them...and to clarify, her dugout was on the first base side. The thing that "concerned" me was that the runner stopped on second...looked at mr. ump... did the "ohhh crap, im out?" look,(because he had his arm in a delayed dead ball signal) and started toward her dugout. personally I wasnt confused about what was going on and neither were her coaches.....but then again we are professional seasoned adults and she is not.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2008, 05:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
Oh... My bad.
Thanks for the explanation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Somewhat OT - partner makes a funny Mark Padgett Basketball 0 Sun Feb 03, 2008 12:59pm
Partner makes major mistake WestMichBlue Softball 9 Wed May 16, 2007 02:42am
umpire makes the call rbrown Softball 4 Fri May 04, 2007 10:15am
Who makes the call? ljudge Football 7 Fri Oct 22, 2004 02:30pm
Who makes this call? WestMichiganBlue Softball 11 Tue Apr 29, 2003 01:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1