![]() |
|
|
|||
She can tag the base with the hand not controlling the ball in the same manner that fielders routinely tag the base with a foot that's not controlling the ball!
See the definition of "tag" under ASA Rule 1. |
|
|||
Quote:
He called the runner out on the Tag. I got called over and told the umpire that this was the incorrect call. At post match he asked why if the D can tag the base with an empty hand and the ball in the other hand, you cannot do the same with a 'Tag Runner' Hmm, "It's the Rule" but in a funny way it kinda makes sense what he was asking.
__________________
Spencer S Suckling ESF Fastpitch & Slowpitch, ABUA-GB London, SW18 3QX. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
However, the rules of tagging a base are equally clear, that the fielder needs only to make contact with the base while having possession of the ball. At no point does this require the contact to be with the ball or glove; just any part of the body contact the base. We have had (semi) interesting posts asking if a ponytail or shoelace would suffice as a point of contact; and, in fact, they would. Since the requirements are clearly different, why would asking why they aren't the same make sense?
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Sun Oct 07, 2007 at 09:31pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Force Play? | rsteele | Baseball | 20 | Tue Jan 11, 2005 08:04am |
Force Out Play | jggilliam | Softball | 9 | Fri Sep 03, 2004 12:01am |
Out at first not a force play | greymule | Baseball | 6 | Mon Jan 06, 2003 06:13pm |
Force Play | brandda | Baseball | 1 | Sun May 19, 2002 01:17am |
Third out without a force play | collinb | Softball | 5 | Thu May 03, 2001 03:17pm |