The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 86
Illegal Pitch

USSSA 16U.

I am PU. After receiving the ball from the catcher, the pitcher bends down and picks up a bit of the chalk from around the circle. She wipes the chalk off on the side of her shorts and prepares to pitch. I think, no problem, she's wiped off the chalk.

Next pitch, same routine but the pitcher now works the chalk between her fingers and the excess falls to the ground. Now I'm thinking, she's pushing it. I don't give the illegal pitch signal until after the pitch. While tracking the ball I see a white blur on the ball (she threw inside, so it was easy to track). I call "illegal pitch" and warn the coach that his pitcher cannot apply a foreign substance to the ball. He didn't argue, just told the pitcher to "wipe it off next time."

Two questions. First, should I have called IP on the first pitch?

Second, do you think chalk is a foreign substance? I can see both sides of the answer. Yes, it is a foreign substance because it is brought to the field to establish the lines of the field, which I agree with. But I may also be swayed, after further thought, that chalk is close to a resin bag and should not be a foreign substance, since a resin bag is legal (Rule 7, Sec. 1. H.).

Feedback, please.
__________________
Scott C.

NFHS
USSSA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Scott,
The first one, I agree, that is not an IP.
I do not agree with you on the 2nd pitch, that was an IP, immediately. It was illegal because F1 did not wipe her pitching hand before touching the ball. That's applying a foreign object. I know you called IP, but that was much later. I'm calling IP as soon as the unwiped pitching hand touches the ball - the actual, physical pitch is not going to happen.
Now, what is a foreign substance - if it was not on the ball when it came out of the box, that's a foreign substance. And RESIN, applied directly to the ball - as opposed to being applied to the hand & then wiped - is also applying a foreign subsance.
And, when wiping, I am not looking at the hand to make sure F1 got every bit of the chalk/resin/whatever off of the hand. The fact is, the stuff went onto the hand and the hand was then wiped. That's good enough for me to believe that the book requirements have been met.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 07:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
Scott,
The first one, I agree, that is not an IP.
I do not agree with you on the 2nd pitch, that was an IP, immediately. It was illegal because F1 did not wipe her pitching hand before touching the ball. That's applying a foreign object. I know you called IP, but that was much later. I'm calling IP as soon as the unwiped pitching hand touches the ball - the actual, physical pitch is not going to happen.
Now, what is a foreign substance - if it was not on the ball when it came out of the box, that's a foreign substance. And RESIN, applied directly to the ball - as opposed to being applied to the hand & then wiped - is also applying a foreign subsance.
And, when wiping, I am not looking at the hand to make sure F1 got every bit of the chalk/resin/whatever off of the hand. The fact is, the stuff went onto the hand and the hand was then wiped. That's good enough for me to believe that the book requirements have been met.
I disagree with you on this one Steve. We actually have this arguement in our local board all the time. If you call the IP as soon as the hand touches the ball - she can simply step off the back of the pitcher's plate and you have nothing. By definition, the pitch begins when the hands are separated after they have been brought together (or something like that - don't have my book with me). IMO, when she takes the hands apart - that's when the IP is to be called. It became illegal when the hand touched the ball - it became a pitch when the hands separated.

I should add that I'm looking at this from fed rules . . . not sure if ASA treats it differently.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
I disagree with you on this one Steve. We actually have this arguement in our local board all the time. If you call the IP as soon as the hand touches the ball - she can simply step off the back of the pitcher's plate and you have nothing. By definition, the pitch begins when the hands are separated after they have been brought together (or something like that - don't have my book with me). IMO, when she takes the hands apart - that's when the IP is to be called. It became illegal when the hand touched the ball - it became a pitch when the hands separated.

I should add that I'm looking at this from fed rules . . . not sure if ASA treats it differently.
Larry,
We'd be on opposite sides guy. The IP is the penalty - in both Fed and ASA - for going directly to the ball after applying the foreign substance. I don't need the actual pitch to occur.
For Fed, check Rule 6, Penalty for Article 2&3 - it sez immediate
For ASA, I'm going to trust memory and say it's Rule 6, Section 5.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
Larry,
We'd be on opposite sides guy. The IP is the penalty - in both Fed and ASA - for going directly to the ball after applying the foreign substance. I don't need the actual pitch to occur.
For Fed, check Rule 6, Penalty for Article 2&3 - it sez immediate
For ASA, I'm going to trust memory and say it's Rule 6, Section 5.
You are correct - we are on opposite sides. Until the hands are taken apart, 6.1.f says that the pitcher can remove herself from the pitching position. If you call an IP before it's a pitch - i.e. when the ball touches the hand, she steps back off the plate and you look foolish. My hope is that once she starts her windup or removes one hand that I call the IP and it causes her not to finish the pitch. At any rate, I still don't see how you can call an IP before you have a pitch.

I did check the reference you stated (albeit a 2005 book) and it doesn't have the word immediate. I agree that an IP is the penalty for applying an illegal substance to the ball - but till she commits to the pitch you have nothing.

BTW, if I were your partner, I'd back you to the coach and disagree with you privately. If I were the coach, you might have to dump me - especially if that call cost me something.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Larry, then you are dumped. It is an illegal pitch for any player to apply a foreign substance, even if the ball is never pitched.

Picture this. Foul ball to third baseman; he fields it, and applies stickum to the ball before returning the ball to the pitcher. What is your call?

My call is illegal pitch; now. The ball is thrown out of play, and the third baseman is warned that repeating that act will result in an ejection.

Play 2; same, but third baseman rubs the ball in the dirt to "rough it up". My call, same result.

Now , play 3, pitcher applies dirt/resin/chalk, whatever. Illegal pitch; now. No pitch is required for that ruling. If the ball is defaced, it is unsafe to be used. Allowing or requirig it to be used isn't prudent or appropriate.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 28, 2007, 03:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
BTW, if I were your partner, I'd back you to the coach and disagree with you privately. If I were the coach, you might have to dump me - especially if that call cost me something.
Larry,
I appreciate this - and would do the same.
And I think we'd have a ball on the field and then after.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 09:41pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
I disagree with you on this one Steve. We actually have this arguement in our local board all the time. If you call the IP as soon as the hand touches the ball - she can simply step off the back of the pitcher's plate and you have nothing. By definition, the pitch begins when the hands are separated after they have been brought together (or something like that - don't have my book with me). IMO, when she takes the hands apart - that's when the IP is to be called. It became illegal when the hand touched the ball - it became a pitch when the hands separated.

I should add that I'm looking at this from fed rules . . . not sure if ASA treats it differently.

Looking from FED rules, it is 6-2-2 and the penalty states "An illegal pitch shall be called immediately"

In reading the EXCEPTION we are told that if the pitch is completed the coach (may) have the option, and signal with the left arm and so on. Then the NOTE: again states to call it when it becomes illegal.

If we say that "she can simply step off the back of the pitcher's plate and you have nothing" then what is to stop the F5 from applying vaseline (an illegal act per rule 6-2-2) then returning the ball to the pitcher? Or are you arguing that she may step off, remove the foriegn substance (be it vaseline or chalk, or spit) and then throw with still no penalty? These rules are listed under the title "INFRACTIONS BY PITCHER". If there is an infraction, how can there be no penalty?

Mountaineer I really think you need to re-consider somewhat.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 27, 2007, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Larry...

Don't want to beat up on you, but the Steves are correct. For this type of infraction, the IP needs to be called when it occurs. This is according to ASA, NFHS, and the OP's USSSA. Stepping back and abandoning the pitch does not nullify the infraction.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitch - Illegal or No Pitch? Duke Softball 13 Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:17am
When does an leegal pitch BECOME and illegal pitch. Illini_Ref Baseball 4 Fri Apr 23, 2004 02:06pm
Legal Pitch vs. Illegal Pitch ? Deion Softball 15 Mon Jun 30, 2003 04:24pm
illegal ball... illegal pitch? [email protected] Baseball 5 Thu Apr 17, 2003 06:57pm
Hit by pitch along with Illegal pitch Del-Blue Softball 10 Sun Mar 09, 2003 09:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1