Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaineer
I disagree with you on this one Steve. We actually have this arguement in our local board all the time. If you call the IP as soon as the hand touches the ball - she can simply step off the back of the pitcher's plate and you have nothing. By definition, the pitch begins when the hands are separated after they have been brought together (or something like that - don't have my book with me). IMO, when she takes the hands apart - that's when the IP is to be called. It became illegal when the hand touched the ball - it became a pitch when the hands separated.
I should add that I'm looking at this from fed rules . . . not sure if ASA treats it differently.
|
Larry,
We'd be on opposite sides guy. The IP is the penalty - in both Fed and ASA - for going directly to the ball after applying the foreign substance. I don't need the actual pitch to occur.
For Fed, check Rule 6, Penalty for Article 2&3 - it sez immediate
For ASA, I'm going to trust memory and say it's Rule 6, Section 5.