![]() |
|
|
|||
BOO question
Situation: first, second and third batters. Numbers are 1, 2 and 3. Batter 1 is supposed to bat but batter 2 bats and hits popup for an out. Before next pitch defensive manager appeals and says 2 batted and 1 should have. Appeal accepted and 1 is called out for not batting when they should have. Since 2 batted and and popped up for an out, does the out stand and then we put 3 up to bat or do we simply have #2 bat again and not count the pop up out as an out?
__________________
Wish I'da umped before I played. What a difference it would'a made! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
#1 is declared out #2's time at bat is negated #2 returns to bat in the proper lineup position with 1 out If no appeal is made and a pitch (legal or illegal) is thrown to the next batter (#3), #2's at bat stands and #3 becomes the legal batter
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning" ![]() |
|
|||
ASA
#1 is out for failing to bat in the correct order. #2 is out on his popup. #3 bats next, with 2 outs.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Two different twists on the question.... ASA:
SIT1: 1 is suppose to bat and 3 comes up and flies out. Defense properly appeals, so number 1 is called out for not taking his/her turn at bat and number 3's out stands. Would it then be #2's turn at bat with two outs? If #2 gets a base hit, is it then #3's turn at bat? SIT 2: 1 is suppose to bat and 8 comes up and flies out. Defense properly appeals, so number 1 is called out for not taking his/her turn at bat and number 8's out stands. Would it then be #2's turn at bat with two outs? Who bat's after #7, two innings later?
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
ASA
Sit 1: #2 bats with 2 outs, followed by #3 Sit 2: #2 bats with 2 outs, and the games resumes normally
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
If #2 gets a base hit, is it then #3's turn at bat?
No, #3 has used their turn at bat. The next scheduled batter would be #4 7-2-D-2-c The next batter is the player whose name follows that of the player called out for failing to bat. Exception: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat, and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the lineup will be the batter. The way I read this, if #1 is supposed to bat and number #2 bats instead and makes an out, and the defense appeals the BOO, #1 is out, #2's out stands, and #3 would bat. The incorrect batter (#2) has been called out as a result of his time at bat and is scheduled to be the proper batter, since the lineup would continue after #1. In that case you skip #2 and go to #3. But if, as in Situation 1, #1 is supposed to bat and #3 bats instead, then #1 is out, #3's out stands, and #2 would bat, followed by #3 again.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Sun Sep 16, 2007 at 03:59pm. |
|
|||
Based on all the different answers for different scenarios on this post I am going to assume that the answer greymule gave is the correct one for an ASA sit. We have two outs and 3 bats.....correct?
__________________
Wish I'da umped before I played. What a difference it would'a made! ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |
Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am |
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question | CoaachJF | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm |