The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 12, 2007, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
This was the only case play I found concerning CO on a squeeze play:

8.1.1 Situation G: R1 is on third. R1 starts home as in a squeeze play. F3, who is playing close for a bunt, cuts off the pitch and tags R1.
Ruling: This is treated the same as catcher obstruction. The ball becomes dead at the end of playing action. The coach or captain of the team at bat has the option of the play or penalty. If the penalty is accepted, R1 is awarded home and B2 is awarded first. (2-36)



Here is the rule:

Rule 8: Batter-Runner and Runner
Section 1: The Batter Becomes A Batter-runner
Article 1


Art. 1... A batter becomes a batter-runner with the right to attempt to score by advancing to first, second and third and then home plate in the listed order when:
a. she legally hits a fair ball.
b. (F.P.) the catcher fails to catch the third strike before the ball touches the ground when there are fewer than two outs and first base is unoccupied at the time of the pitch, or anytime there are two outs.
c. an intentional base on balls is awarded (S.P.), or a fourth ball is called by the umpire.
d. the catcher or another defensive player obstructs, hinders or prevents the batter from striking or hitting a pitched ball.
e. The catcher or any other fielder shall not:
1. Step on, or in front of home plate without the ball, or
2. On a swing or attempted bunt, touch the batter or her bat with a runner on third base trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal.
PENALTY: (Art. 1) The runner would be awarded the base on the attempted steal or squeeze. The batter shall also be awarded first base on the obstruction and the ball is dead.

I think the ruling for 8.1.1.e.2 is assuming that the ball was not put into play by the BR. It is missing a portion of the rule that ASA contains.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"

Last edited by MNBlue; Wed Sep 12, 2007 at 11:18am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catcher's Obstruction: Hit or E2? TwoBits Baseball 19 Fri Jun 02, 2006 02:54pm
Squeeze play situation TwoBits Baseball 25 Tue May 16, 2006 11:47pm
Catcher's Interference on a Squeeze Play isneths Baseball 5 Wed Jul 14, 2004 01:18pm
Squeeze play interference? tornado Baseball 4 Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:37am
catcher's obstruction Tap Softball 25 Wed Aug 06, 2003 10:09am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1