The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 15, 2007, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Double Base Question

Double Base being used. Ball hit towards first base that gets by the first baseman...Second base is backing up first and picks up the ball well beyond the double base near the line (fair ball). Second baseman runs towards first to make the force out on the base. She tags the orange base only before the runner crosses first. She had no real reason to go to the orange but did.

The rule (NFHS and ASA) states that the defense may use the orange on a force putout on a play from the foul side of first...I always interpreted that as really only being a throw from the foul side.

Question:

Would the defense, using the orange in the situation above, be a violation and the runner safe or out?

If safe, would it be an automatic safe call by the umpire or an appeal.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
double base type question Little Jimmy Softball 10 Tue May 04, 2004 08:53am
Another double base question... KSBlue Softball 3 Tue Jun 10, 2003 02:44pm
Again double base 1st oppool Softball 4 Wed Mar 26, 2003 01:40pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
double base question shipwreck Softball 18 Wed Aug 29, 2001 09:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1