![]() |
|
|||
3rd out on appeal
I know this is a dead horse topic, but just for comment. A group of experienced umpires were discussing a play and could not agree on the rule. Although the play happened in a hardball game, the same issue exists in softball. I said it depended on which rule set in softball and I don't care about hardball.
With two outs, a BR overran 1st without touching it. The fielder realized it and tagged the runner as an appeal and the runner was out. Another runner touched HP before the appeal; raising the question of whether that should count as a run or the appeal out counted as a force. As I understand it, for appeals of what would have been a force play or a BR at 1st: NFHS - no run PONY - no run USSSA - not specified ASA - run counts NCAA - no runs others - ??? Even an experienced group of umps had trouble with this and I think the problem is: - different from book to book - wording different even when meaning agrees - not clear without "case book" or POE in most books - umpires who do both sports - infrequent occurrence Any comments?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Appeal | mach3 | Softball | 7 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:30am |
The Appeal | clok_strix_3 | Baseball | 12 | Thu May 08, 2003 03:31pm |
Appeal | Prince | Baseball | 3 | Fri May 10, 2002 12:03pm |
Out on Appeal ??? | Bandit | Softball | 2 | Thu Apr 25, 2002 09:28am |
appeal | Whowefoolin | Baseball | 2 | Fri Nov 30, 2001 07:08pm |