The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones
In FP, Foul ball. 7-6-k-exception-3.

Hang around and do enough games, you will see this again...but it's always a surprise the first time it happens.
John, I think you mis-read the ruling. ASA 7-6-k-exception-3 states:
The batter is out:
When the batter hits a fair ball with the bat a second time in fair territory:
Exception 3. If contact was made on the follow through, after missing the pitch on the initial swing. Effect: It is a dead ball, strike.

So in the OP, we would have a dead ball, strike, for the third strike and an out.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Dead ball strike in all codes.

Just a note --- why do you reference the dropped third strike rule at all here - the ball was never dropped (or uncaught).
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Dead ball strike in all codes.

Just a note --- why do you reference the dropped third strike rule at all here - the ball was never dropped (or uncaught).
Mike,
I'm sure you're are correct, but I couldn't find the reference in NFHS. Where did you see it?
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"

Last edited by MNBlue; Thu May 17, 2007 at 08:22am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
Mike,
I'm sure you're are correct, but I couldn't find the reference in NFHS. Where did you see it?
I don't have the books here at work... but I would look in the "It is a strike when..." section.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 09:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
I don't have the books here at work... but I would look in the "It is a strike when..." section.
It also agrees with common sense. This case cannot be ruled a D3K because the ball was neither caught nor dropped. And the ball has to be dead, so no D3K either.

I suppose some people may argue for a foul ball, but I'd go with the strike out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by celebur
It also agrees with common sense. This case cannot be ruled a D3K because the ball was neither caught nor dropped. And the ball has to be dead, so no D3K either.

I suppose some people may argue for a foul ball, but I'd go with the strike out.
Agreed.

But here is my concern. NFHS 7.2.1.b - A strike is charged to the batter when: a pitched ball is struck at and missed.

Seems clear, in the OP the first swing should be ruled a strike. Now what about the 'follow through' contact of the ball?

I am either overlooking why contacting the ball should be dead on the follow through swing in section 1 of Rule 5 - Dead Ball and Suspension of Play, or it isn't there. So I go to the rules governing interference, and this is the closest I can find. 7.4.4: Batter is out: The batter interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by leaning over home plate, by stepping out of the batter's box, by making any other movement which hinders action at home or the catchers attempt to play on a runner ...

Granted, technically, the player is not a runner, but a batter-runner, but there doesn't seem to be anything I can find that would cause the contacting of the ball on the follow through to be dead.

I'm not arguing that it shouldn't be, I'm thinking either I'm not looking hard enough or there is something missing in the book.

Just looking for some help.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"

Last edited by MNBlue; Thu May 17, 2007 at 10:33am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue

Granted, technically, the player is not a runner, but a batter-runner
No, the player is still a batter.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
Agreed.

But here is my concern. NFHS 7.2.1.b - A strike is charged to the batter when: a pitched ball is struck at and missed.

Seems clear, in the OP the first swing should be ruled a strike. Now what about the 'follow through' contact of the ball?

I am either overlooking why contacting the ball should be dead on the follow through swing in section 1 of Rule 5 - Dead Ball and Suspension of Play, or it isn't there. So I go to the rules governing interference, and this is the closest I can find. 7.4.4: Batter is out: The batter interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by leaning over home plate, by stepping out of the batter's box, by making any other movement which hinders action at home or the catchers attempt to play on a runner ...

Granted, technically, the player is not a runner, but a batter-runner, but there doesn't seem to be anything I can find that would cause the contacting of the ball on the follow through to be dead.

I'm not arguing that it shouldn't be, I'm thinking either I'm not looking hard enough or there is something missing in the book.

Just looking for some help.
Here's my read on the situation....

The strike three pitch is neither caught nor dropped at the time it was struck by the bat on the follow through. The catcher is still in the act of receiving the pitch since it popped straight up in the air and she still has a chance to catch the ball to complete the out on the strikeout. The bat hitting the ball interferred with that opportunity. I believe the rule cited above is correct for this play.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WSJ - The Call of a Lifetime For Basketball Referees Larks Basketball 1 Sun Nov 26, 2006 06:00pm
Once in a lifetime SF Softball 8 Thu May 12, 2005 11:04am
BB situation Shmuelg Baseball 6 Wed Apr 06, 2005 09:24am
Lifetime mystery solved Junker Basketball 14 Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:38am
Umpire receives an offer of a lifetime mrm21711 Baseball 9 Thu Jul 29, 2004 08:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1