The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Runner question

Apprerciate your thoughts: R1 on 3B as only runner. Batter (now R2)gets walk and after ball back to pitcher in 16 foot circle, R2 touches 1st and keeps running toward 2nd base. Pitcher looks back R1 to third and throws to 2nd. R2, realizing she is a dead duck, stops running and gets into a rundown between 1st and 2nd. During the rundown, R1 races home and scores without a throw. After a few tosses back and forth, R2 safely reaches 2nd base.
RULING: Is R2 out as soon as she retreated back to 1st base IN VIOLATION OF LOOK-BACK RULE and R2 should be returned to 3rd or would run count and R2 safe at second?

Last edited by Jackman; Thu Apr 19, 2007 at 02:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Why would anyone be out in this scenario at all?

Well ... he edited his post after I posted my response... I now see that OP is thinking there's a LBR violation. As others have stated below, there is no LBR to violate if the pitcher makes a play on anyone. BR was legal when she retreated back to 1st base.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson

Last edited by mcrowder; Thu Apr 19, 2007 at 03:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Lookback rule in out of effect anytime the pitcher makes a play in the umpires judgement. I don't think anyone would argue that throwing the ball to get a runner out is not making a play! So the LBR is null and the runner are safe.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
R2 did not stop because she realized she was a dead duck, she stopped because she did what she was taught and achieved her goal which was to get the ball thrown out to 2B, and then go get into a rundown to allow the run to score. It is scored as a SAC if she gets out, but staying safe at 2B is gravy.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo
R2 did not stop because she realized she was a dead duck, she stopped because she did what she was taught and achieved her goal which was to get the ball thrown out to 2B, and then go get into a rundown to allow the run to score. It is scored as a SAC if she gets out, but staying safe at 2B is gravy.
There's no such thing as a sacrifice Caught Stealing... There are sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies. This runner does not get credited with a sac (Or an RBI, if you were implying that).
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
There's no such thing as a sacrifice Caught Stealing... There are sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies. This runner does not get credited with a sac (Or an RBI, if you were implying that).
The Official Scorer doesn't know jack about fastpitch.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo
The Official Scorer doesn't know jack about fastpitch.
Tony, as her coach you can give her a helmet sticker or a lollypop or whatever you want for executing the play the way you wanted. However, the scorer can't give her a SAC -- no matter how much the scorer knows or doesn't know about fastpitch.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 56
R2 safe at 2nd and run scores.

LBR is off when pitcher throws to second. Personally, I'm giving some latitude on LBR if F1 and R1 are in a staring contest especially if F1 has arm cocked. Now, if pitcher turns her attention away from R1 and looks toward catcher for next pitch, then R1 must either advance or retreat.
__________________
Dave
ASA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoosier_Dave
Personally, I'm giving some latitude on LBR if F1 and R1 are in a staring contest especially if F1 has arm cocked.
What if her arm isn't cocked(or she isn't doing anything besides staring at the runner that could be considered making a play), and the pitcher is just standing there looking at the runner. Are you telling me that you won't enforce the LBR then?

As to the original post, LBR is not in effect as the others have noted. Run scores R2 on second.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoosier_Dave
R2 safe at 2nd and run scores.

LBR is off when pitcher throws to second. Personally, I'm giving some latitude on LBR if F1 and R1 are in a staring contest especially if F1 has arm cocked. Now, if pitcher turns her attention away from R1 and looks toward catcher for next pitch, then R1 must either advance or retreat.
If F1 doesn't have the arm cocked and is "in a staring contest", R1 is out. In fact, the "staring contest" is about how the rule got the name "lookback rule" in the first place. The "staring contest" is exactly when you should NOT give any latitude to the runner.

Also note - the initial cock of the arm can be considered a play ... anything that causes the runner to react or reevaluate can be considered a play. Standing there with the arm cocked without movement of that arm is NOT a play - you might give a little more than the 1-1000-2-OUT! if you have a pitcher with a motionless cocked arm ... but not much more.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Re: ASA website June Clarification on Runner Interference Play HawkeyeCubP Softball 5 Thu Jul 06, 2006 03:34pm
Runner gets hit by a batted ball....another question PJUMP Baseball 3 Fri Mar 17, 2006 05:27pm
Courtsey Runner Question whiskers_ump Softball 9 Thu Jan 19, 2006 05:18pm
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm
Runner helping other runner BMGregory Baseball 1 Thu May 08, 2003 03:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1