Thread: Runner question
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 03:30pm
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo
R2 did not stop because she realized she was a dead duck, she stopped because she did what she was taught and achieved her goal which was to get the ball thrown out to 2B, and then go get into a rundown to allow the run to score. It is scored as a SAC if she gets out, but staying safe at 2B is gravy.
There's no such thing as a sacrifice Caught Stealing... There are sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies. This runner does not get credited with a sac (Or an RBI, if you were implying that).
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote