The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Cool Game ending scenario - runner goes into DBT

I brought this up once in the other thread, but didn't ask again there since it was a bit off the topic of the appeals and such.

Bases loaded, bottom 7, R1 is the winning run. 1 out. BR gets a walk. R1 crosses home. All other runners enter the celebration and do not advance to their bases.

In FP, this is a live ball situation. An appeal cannot be made until the runners are no longer eligible to complete their base-running duties. That can't happen until the runners enter DBT. However, if the runners abandon their attempt to advance and enter DBT, that is not an appeal. They are merely out.

Does the umpire declare them out rather than wait on the appeal? If not, why not?

If, in the celebration, one or more of the active runners pass each other, are they also declared out? If not, why not?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
I brought this up once in the other thread, but didn't ask again there since it was a bit off the topic of the appeals and such.

Bases loaded, bottom 7, R1 is the winning run. 1 out. BR gets a walk. R1 crosses home. All other runners enter the celebration and do not advance to their bases.

In FP, this is a live ball situation. An appeal cannot be made until the runners are no longer eligible to complete their base-running duties. That can't happen until the runners enter DBT. However, if the runners abandon their attempt to advance and enter DBT, that is not an appeal. They are merely out.

Does the umpire declare them out rather than wait on the appeal? If not, why not?

If, in the celebration, one or more of the active runners pass each other, are they also declared out? If not, why not?
ASA Case Book 2005/06 Page 80, Play 8.6-1


Similar situation with two outs.....in one scenario the batter leaves the field, in the other, the runner on first leaves....

The ruling states that in neither case is it an appeal play and must be called by the umpire as soon as the offending player leaves the field. The same ruling could be extended to your scenario of a runner passing another runner
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
I brought this up once in the other thread, but didn't ask again there since it was a bit off the topic of the appeals and such.

Bases loaded, bottom 7, R1 is the winning run. 1 out. BR gets a walk. R1 crosses home. All other runners enter the celebration and do not advance to their bases.

In FP, this is a live ball situation. An appeal cannot be made until the runners are no longer eligible to complete their base-running duties. That can't happen until the runners enter DBT. However, if the runners abandon their attempt to advance and enter DBT, that is not an appeal. They are merely out.

Does the umpire declare them out rather than wait on the appeal? If not, why not?
One word - booger! I'm not looking for any, are you?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 07:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
One word - booger! I'm not looking for any, are you?
What, exactly, was the point of that post?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 07:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
If I understand Irish correctly, I believe the point was, "Didn't see it, so I can't call it."
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
If I understand Irish correctly, I believe the point was, "Didn't see it, so I can't call it."
What an answer.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
What an answer.
It's common in clinics and amongst umpires to say "don't pick boogers" as a means of describing over officiating.

I'm not surprised you've never heard that term.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S. Caroline/FSU Game Ending tjones1 Basketball 5 Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:56am
sac or hit on game ending play? medinger2 Baseball 3 Tue May 03, 2005 01:19pm
Another game ending sitch Blackhawk357 Basketball 10 Fri Jan 07, 2005 01:16pm
Game ending interference blueump Baseball 1 Wed May 26, 2004 07:55am
Game Ending BooBoo whiskers_ump Softball 4 Fri May 02, 2003 12:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1