View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 04:34pm
jimpiano jimpiano is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
I brought this up once in the other thread, but didn't ask again there since it was a bit off the topic of the appeals and such.

Bases loaded, bottom 7, R1 is the winning run. 1 out. BR gets a walk. R1 crosses home. All other runners enter the celebration and do not advance to their bases.

In FP, this is a live ball situation. An appeal cannot be made until the runners are no longer eligible to complete their base-running duties. That can't happen until the runners enter DBT. However, if the runners abandon their attempt to advance and enter DBT, that is not an appeal. They are merely out.

Does the umpire declare them out rather than wait on the appeal? If not, why not?

If, in the celebration, one or more of the active runners pass each other, are they also declared out? If not, why not?
ASA Case Book 2005/06 Page 80, Play 8.6-1


Similar situation with two outs.....in one scenario the batter leaves the field, in the other, the runner on first leaves....

The ruling states that in neither case is it an appeal play and must be called by the umpire as soon as the offending player leaves the field. The same ruling could be extended to your scenario of a runner passing another runner
Reply With Quote