The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2007, 06:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Posts: 186
I'm trying to follow this but still need some help from you guys. I understand having to touch the bases again in reverse order to get back to first. Now, when the throw went into DBA the runner was between 1B and 2B when the throw was released. You awarded him 2 bases from the release of the throw, putting him on 3B. I agree, but By doing so, aren't you ruling that he only had 1B prior to the release? And if so, how can he be out on a 2B appeal if you have already ruled that he never reached to 2B?
__________________
"Experience is valued least by those without it."
ASA, NFHS, PONY, USSSA, NCAA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2007, 06:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
And if so, how can he be out on a 2B appeal if you have already ruled that he never reached to 2B?

He did reach 2B—even though he missed it—and by retreating he placed himself between 1B and 2B, still with liability to be put out for missing 2B.

Missing 2B and never reaching 2B—and retreating toward 1B after missing (or touching) 2B—are different things.

For the purposes of awarding bases, the runner is considered to have touched the bases he passed. For example: Abel on 1B runs on Baker's hit. Abel misses 2B and is on his way to 3B when F9 throws the ball into DBT. Abel was between 2B and 3B when F9 released the throw, so you award him home. You don't say, "Well, Abel never touched 2B, so I'll consider him as being between 1B and 2B and make the award from 1B."

The rule book is clear that passing a base is the same as touching it, except that the runner is liable to be put out on appeal. After all, the rule book says that a run scores when a runner touches 1B, 2B, 3B, and home. If a batter circles the bases on a hit but misses 2B, we score the run anyway unless the defense appeals the miss. We don't say, "Even though there was no appeal, the runner missed 2B and therefore did not fulfill the requirements for scoring a run."
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2007, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsig
I'm trying to follow this but still need some help from you guys. I understand having to touch the bases again in reverse order to get back to first. Now, when the throw went into DBA the runner was between 1B and 2B when the throw was released. You awarded him 2 bases from the release of the throw, putting him on 3B. I agree, but By doing so, aren't you ruling that he only had 1B prior to the release? And if so, how can he be out on a 2B appeal if you have already ruled that he never reached to 2B?
When the runner returned he gave up on second base and reinstated a force out because the batter/runner is occupying first. The runner now can be put out by simply touching second base. Since, instead, the ball was overthrown into a dead ball area the runner has only legally attained first base and the award of two bases sends him to third. That is, until he was successfully put out on appeal for missing second base.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2007, 07:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
Since, instead, the ball was overthrown into a dead ball area the runner has only legally attained first base and the award of two bases sends him to third. ...
Speaking ASA, this is incorrect. The 2 base award is based on the position of the runners at the time of the throw, not the "legally attained" base.


Quote:
ASA 8-Section 5. RUNNERS ARE ENTITLED TO ADVANCE WITHOUT LIABILITY TO BE PUT OUT.

G. When the ball is live and is overthrown or is blocked:
EFFECT: All runners shall be awarded two bases. The award shall be governed by the position of the runners when the ball left the fielder’s hand. Runners must return to touch a base missed or a base left too soon.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2007, 08:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Speaking ASA, this is incorrect. The 2 base award is based on the position of the runners at the time of the throw, not the "legally attained" base.
You are correct and I apologize for making this thread even more complicated.

I was trying, albeit feebly, to help Bigsig understand missing second base(or touching second base) had no bearing on the award, since the runner was between first and second at the time of the throw.

I was trying to help
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2007, 09:04pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpiano
You are correct and I apologize for making this thread even more complicated.

I was trying, albeit feebly, to help Bigsig understand missing second base(or touching second base) had no bearing on the award, since the runner was between first and second at the time of the throw.

I was trying to help
Holy ****, JP has admitted he's wrong.

*pumps his fist in celebration*

__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 07, 2007, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Posts: 186
I was having trouble understanding the appeal.
Thanks to all for your help!
__________________
"Experience is valued least by those without it."
ASA, NFHS, PONY, USSSA, NCAA
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 06, 2007, 08:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Speaking ASA, this is incorrect. The 2 base award is based on the position of the runners at the time of the throw, not the "legally attained" base.
Okay.

The thread has had several left and right turns.

My last answer was a feeble attempt to answer BIGSIG on why the touch or no touch of second base was immaterial. Your answer is much clearer.

And thanks to the input of all I would answer your original questions this way, based on the rule book.

a) R1 misses 2B on the advance but touches on the return-No potential successful appeal
b) R1 misses 2B in both directions-one potential successful appeal
c) R1 touches 2B on the advance but misses on the return-one potential sucessful appea

Thanks for the challenge
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HR, missed base Jay R Baseball 18 Tue May 13, 2003 02:38pm
FED - Missed base PeteBooth Baseball 2 Tue Oct 01, 2002 03:33pm
Missed Base brandda Baseball 3 Tue May 21, 2002 09:43pm
Missed base Dakota Softball 13 Mon May 21, 2001 11:06am
Appeals missed base- tag/touch rex Baseball 3 Wed Aug 30, 2000 05:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1