The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Apr 02, 2007, 11:27am
Official Forum Member

2-Man Mechanics for a Beginner

Hi all,

This is my first year working youth softball. I've been around the game for some time (my sister has played for several years now) and due to having done a lot of basketball (I'm pretty active on the basketball forum here), I was asked this year if I would help umpire some games. I jumped on the opportunity as I love the sport. But that's really all beside the point....I've read the rulebook through and through, and have been working bases for a slow-pitch league (really relaxed and laid back, but invaluable as far as learning positioning). The one question that nags me is this.

I'm BU, runners on 1st and 2nd, I'm in C-slot (which I believe is right, but correct me if I'm wrong). Batter pops the ball up, and it lands in front of the plate, where F2 fields the ball, and attempts to put batter-runner out at 1B. My question is, often time I feel as if I'm in a bad position to make this call from all the way over at C-slot. How do you get in position to make this call?
Old Mon Apr 02, 2007, 11:41am
Official Forum Member

It that situation, the best thing you can do is try to get the best possible angle for the play.

It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Old Mon Apr 02, 2007, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member

Wait for R1 to clear and move forward / to your right (approx toward pitcher). As Scott alludes to, angle is FAR more important than distance on this play, but if you can gain distance it will help you a bit (and probably looks better to anyone who cares about it). If you can get to the holding area behind the pitcher, that's about as good as you can hope for (and you're in better position for other potential developing plays).
Old Mon Apr 02, 2007, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member