![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Dont you worry though, its basically a fairly slow board, so even with all the ado flowing around, you will still have enough time to invent your own flourishes and hand slaps for use as signals in games.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Wade, sometimes you can be a real smartass, but that one made me laugh.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you cant fathom a force out then I would wonder about your definition of slow. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thats gutsy. You keep up the good work.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
|
"Therefore, in ASA the out on the BR at 1B is indistinguishable from a force play and should rightly be termed such."
Since the rule change, I have treated the entire white/orange slab of the safety base as usable by either fielder or runner once the BR touches (or crosses 1B). Imagine that...applying the rule using common sense. __________________ |
|
|||
|
Quote:
My statements on the force play at 1B fall into the latter category, as do the treatment of the entire double base as usable by both teams. Umpires frequently use "common sense" as the justification for making up their own rules. Not saying you are doing that, just a caution to not take what you said too far.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Now that the King and his court are gone, are you applying to be the new jester? I liked this one, a lot. Needed it on a very bad day. Thanks
__________________
ISF ASA/USA Elite NIF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you consider it to be much ado about nothing, well, let's see for which list you qualify.
__________________
John An ucking fidiot |
|
|||
|
Because it is treated like a force in all circumstances by ASA. I seem to recall that it is the ASA interpretation that the BR who overruns 1B can re-instate the force by overrunning back in the other direction toward home. IOW, the defense can retire the BR in that circumstance by merely tagging the base. I don't have time now to try to look this up... does anyone else remember this? We discussed it a year or two ago on this board.
That's right. ASA, unlike other codes, considers the BR to have "occupied" a previous base—home. The BR can in fact reinstate the force by retreating (though he wouldn't have to overrun 1B; he could simply stop on the base and then retreat). Therefore, in ASA the out on the BR at 1B is indistinguishable from a force play and should rightly be termed such. Since the rule change, I have treated the entire white/orange slab of the safety base as usable by either fielder or runner once the BR touches (or crosses 1B).
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Double First Base | SRW | Softball | 11 | Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:59am |
| Double first base | bkbjones | Softball | 11 | Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21pm |
| Double Base | mach3 | Softball | 6 | Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:16pm |
| Again double base 1st | oppool | Softball | 4 | Wed Mar 26, 2003 01:40pm |
| ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here | Tap | Softball | 9 | Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm |