The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 25, 2007, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Another Look Back question:

Runner rounds first base as pitcher gets ball in the circle (ie: LBR is in effect).

Runner stops momentarily off first, then immediately proceeds to second base (all legal, so far).

As the runner reaches second, she rounds it. Upon rounding second, she stops momentarily then immediately returns to second base.

Is the runner out for having made a second stop?

The rule governing her first stop (between first and second) says that she is out if she does not immediately return to first or advance toward second. The runner met that obligation.

Her second stop, after rounding second base, would not violate the spirit and intent of the rule. It would not be done as a jockeying cat and mouse game, but as a normal rounding of the bag and quick return.

As the LBR is written, the second stop or reversal seems only to apply when in between two bases. Once the advanced base is legally obtained, is there any sort of "reset" (for lack of a better word) to the runners Look Back obligations?

Is there any interpretation to cover the play I described, or is it simply "two stops, you're out"? I can see a logic and common sense to allowing that second stop after the advanced base has been reached.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
"I can see a logic and common sense to allowing that second stop after the advanced base has been reached."

"Her second stop, after rounding second base, would not violate the spirit and intent of the rule. "

The rule refers to being off "a base"; which would be the base most recently achieved (legally).
Same as before, the LBR is not there as a "gotcha" for umpires, just to control runners excesses.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
This exact situation was presented to me over the weekend, by a coach attending an umpire clinic for a local rec league. He said that it happened last summer on the travel ball team he coaches.

His runner was the one that made the stop after rounding second and was called out for "stopping twice". He said that he subsequently spoke with another umpire about this play and was told that the ruling was incorrect.

Allowing that second stop after the next base is reached makes sense to me. (I know that the LBR isn't there to provide cheap outs for the umpires.)

Reading the rule straight from the book might allow one to infer this to be the case, but the rule isn't explicit about what is allowed after that next base is reached. That's why I was wondering if anyone had an official interpretation, case play, etc. to cover this.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 26, 2007, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
The rule states that after one stop, the runner must proceed to the next base or return to the previous base. Seems the runner met that criteria. Rule also states that if the runner stops in contact with the base while the LBR is in effect, the runner is ruled out. Seems the runner didn't do that.

I would think that barring any follow-up information to the contrary, what the runner did is permissible.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Lookback Rule David Emerling Softball 33 Sat Oct 28, 2006 11:45am
Lookback rule David Emerling Softball 29 Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:19am
What's going on with lookback? Dakota Softball 14 Sun May 23, 2004 05:55am
Lookback, Lookback and Lookback.. Again sprivitor Softball 8 Wed Jun 25, 2003 02:55pm
Lookback question DanIn Softball 2 Sat Jun 14, 2003 07:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1