![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
By the way, welcome to the board Frank.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
|
I remember calling it once, after the BR touched 1B but saw F10 under his pop in short RF. He retreated back down the 1B line, but F10 dropped the ball. The BR tried to make it to 1B, but the throw beat him.
I can't remember having that call any other time. It's most likely to happen on a play like this: Abel on 1B, no outs. Baker hits a liner to short RF. Abel runs and touches 2B as F10 dives for the ball but traps it. Abel thinks F10 caught the ball and starts to return to 1B. F10 throws to F6 at 2B for the force out on Abel, even though Abel had touched 2B.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
Here's a related play. How would you call it?
Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, 2 outs. Charles lines a hit to right field. Abel scores. As F4 takes the throw from F10, Baker stops on 2B, Charles stops on 1B. As F4 is walking the ball in, Baker, wrongly assuming time is out since play appears to be stopped, goes back toward 1B to retrieve his hat. F4 tags Baker, and since time wasn't called, you call Baker out for the third out. Does Abel's run count?
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| I have an ASA FP rules question. | clueless | Softball | 6 | Mon Mar 21, 2005 01:06pm |
| rules question | devdog69 | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 04:10pm |
| Rules Question | stevesmith | Lacrosse | 8 | Sat Mar 27, 2004 07:38am |
| Rules question #3...please help.... | trippingants4134 | Basketball | 11 | Tue Feb 26, 2002 11:56pm |