| 
				
				ASA Rules Question From Prospective Ump
			 
 
			
			Hi all, glad I found this forum, there is so much info here it's unreal.  I've played hardball and softball all my life and have decided to attempt to make the jump to officiating.  I have just started my umpiring class run by my local ASA and am having trouble finding the applicable rule relating to the following true/false question:
 "A forced runner that touches the next base and retreats toward the base they last occupied must be tagged in order to be put out"  t/f
 
 I'm fairly confident that the runner would have to be tagged, but I can't find the specific rule to reference.  I am looking at the 2006 ASA rulebook.  Thanks in advance for any help.
 
 Frank.
 |