View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 24, 2007, 12:06pm
Frank Lemon Frank Lemon is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
ASA Rules Question From Prospective Ump

Hi all, glad I found this forum, there is so much info here it's unreal. I've played hardball and softball all my life and have decided to attempt to make the jump to officiating. I have just started my umpiring class run by my local ASA and am having trouble finding the applicable rule relating to the following true/false question:

"A forced runner that touches the next base and retreats toward the base they last occupied must be tagged in order to be put out" t/f

I'm fairly confident that the runner would have to be tagged, but I can't find the specific rule to reference. I am looking at the 2006 ASA rulebook. Thanks in advance for any help.

Frank.
Reply With Quote